Post Reply 
newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
06-15-2022, 03:50 PM
Post: #221
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(06-15-2022 03:37 PM)The Shadow Wrote:  The dot at the end of the number means it's not an exact value.

Ahh - got it! I see it doesn't happen with something like 1/4 being 0.25 (not 0.25.)

I also confirmed that the Esc(hold) - On button turns off the calc. Having this ability has allowed me to "clear" the graphical glitch I get sometimes (as shown a few posts back). I was able to turn off the calc, and turn it back on to clear the glitch (sometimes it takes a few tries though)...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-15-2022, 07:32 PM
Post: #222
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
One more question regarding fonts on the Prime...

The default font is quite large - OK for the stack, but too big for the menus. I have successfully set the menus to Font10A (which is much smaller than the default font size), but setting the stack to this font makes it too small to be usable. Once the default fonts are changed, is there no way to get back to the default font without a reset? The documentation shows Font10A as the largest - but there must be a larger one internally stored that is bigger and used as the default. Does that font have a name that can be used with the ->FNT commands?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-19-2022, 05:02 AM
Post: #223
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(06-15-2022 07:32 PM)spiff72 Wrote:  One more question regarding fonts on the Prime...

The default font is quite large - OK for the stack, but too big for the menus. I have successfully set the menus to Font10A (which is much smaller than the default font size), but setting the stack to this font makes it too small to be usable. Once the default fonts are changed, is there no way to get back to the default font without a reset? The documentation shows Font10A as the largest - but there must be a larger one internally stored that is bigger and used as the default. Does that font have a name that can be used with the ->FNT commands?

Lots of questions:

On the keyboard: Esc-Hold replaced On-hold (so it's not only to turn it off, all the shortcuts to change precision, number formatting, etc. that use On-hold on the 50g will work with Esc-hold on the Prime).
On the Fonts issue: Prime includes 2 additional fonts, 'Font18' and 'Font24', which are the defaults for the menus and the stack respectively. You are completely right, the ideal font for the menus seems to be an intermediate between 'Font10A' and 'Font18', most likely a 14 pixels high font which hasn't been created so far.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-19-2022, 05:10 AM
Post: #224
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(06-14-2022 02:39 AM)spiff72 Wrote:  Sorry for all the questions lately - and if the dev is busy that's totally OK.

For the Prime G1 implementation of newRPL:
- Is there a way to power off the calc, or do you just have to wait until it powers off automatically?
- Why are decimals values shown with a decimal as the separator, AND at the end of the number on the stack?
- I have experienced a graphics glitch several times since installing it on my Rev C hardware. This happens when it is powered down, and I press the On key to turn it on. The screen will be flickering and dark, and I can't get out of it without poking the reset button on the back. I would try turning it off and back on, but I don't think there is a button for this (see first question). I haven't left it in this condition long enough to see if it powers down automatically. It is still operational when in this state, but the screen looks bad. See this video for example: https://youtube.com/shorts/GPUZUKkSK2U

Thanks

We are well aware of this: it only happens if you turn the display off and back on quickly. The solution is to turn the calc off, wait 2 seconds or more, then turn it back on. We haven't been able to pinpoint the issue but it seems that when you turn off and back on quickly the LCD driver chip starts from a corrupted state. So far the only solution found was to slow down the off/on sequence, but we want newRPL to be instantaneous when you press the On key (unlike the PrimeOS, which will make you wait a short second), so slowing down is NOT a valid solution hence not implemented.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-20-2022, 02:47 AM
Post: #225
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
Thanks for the responses!

Glad to know the graphics issue isn't just me...

The additional font names are also helpful. I think I can deal with the smaller font for the menus, but now I at least know what the two names are to reassign them if I mess things up.

Now that I know how to turn off the calc (from the other responses above) - I can at least recover from the graphics glitch without having to reset (and lose all memory).

Do you see the possibility in the future of a version that has persistent memory, but doesn't have the potential to dual boot (all newRPL, all the time)? I put together a KB overlay (key labels only) that accounts for the keys with revised functions, but when I put them on, I can't see the OG labels for the Prime OS functions. I already have a Prime G2 that will always have Prime OS on it, so I am totally OK with a dedicated firmware if there wasn't a risk of losing all items that were stored (settings, variables, programs, etc).

For reference, this is my KB layout. It has a few things that are missing (namely a couple of the functions that require a hold-shift combo), and it reflects the duplicated << >> assignments...

I have printed this on vinyl sticker stock and cut it out with my Cricut, and it works nicely thus far!

Thanks again!


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-21-2022, 01:16 PM
Post: #226
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(06-20-2022 02:47 AM)spiff72 Wrote:  Do you see the possibility in the future of a version that has persistent memory, but doesn't have the potential to dual boot (all newRPL, all the time)? I put together a KB overlay (key labels only) that accounts for the keys with revised functions, but when I put them on, I can't see the OG labels for the Prime OS functions. I already have a Prime G2 that will always have Prime OS on it, so I am totally OK with a dedicated firmware if there wasn't a risk of losing all items that were stored (settings, variables, programs, etc).

I personally always felt the dual boot was necessary in order to convince people to turn their Prime into a newRPL machine, since they wouldn't really lose their precious Prime.
But since the Prime G2 was released, you can have a "better" Prime then use your old G1 for newRPL. The main problem with newRPL not being persistent is not technical, but legal: the HP Prime uses a YAFFS file system for the flash partition, which is released under the GPL license. This means if newRPL wants to read/write to that partition the firmware will become "infected" with the GPL license.
Taking over completely we could of course use a different flash file system with a more compatible licensing.
Right now newRPL can write to the FAT partition mounted as an SD card, so you can use SDARCHIVE and SDRESTORE to achieve persistence across reboots.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-21-2022, 02:16 PM
Post: #227
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(06-21-2022 01:16 PM)Claudio L. Wrote:  
(06-20-2022 02:47 AM)spiff72 Wrote:  Do you see the possibility in the future of a version that has persistent memory, but doesn't have the potential to dual boot (all newRPL, all the time)? I put together a KB overlay (key labels only) that accounts for the keys with revised functions, but when I put them on, I can't see the OG labels for the Prime OS functions. I already have a Prime G2 that will always have Prime OS on it, so I am totally OK with a dedicated firmware if there wasn't a risk of losing all items that were stored (settings, variables, programs, etc).

I personally always felt the dual boot was necessary in order to convince people to turn their Prime into a newRPL machine, since they wouldn't really lose their precious Prime.
But since the Prime G2 was released, you can have a "better" Prime then use your old G1 for newRPL. The main problem with newRPL not being persistent is not technical, but legal: the HP Prime uses a YAFFS file system for the flash partition, which is released under the GPL license. This means if newRPL wants to read/write to that partition the firmware will become "infected" with the GPL license.
Taking over completely we could of course use a different flash file system with a more compatible licensing.
Right now newRPL can write to the FAT partition mounted as an SD card, so you can use SDARCHIVE and SDRESTORE to achieve persistence across reboots.
Thanks for the clarification - I have been getting things set here with those SD commands - but I need to get it all "dialed in" again before doing it again (based on your previous cautions about overusing those for wear reasons).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-02-2022, 05:27 PM
Post: #228
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(06-19-2022 05:10 AM)Claudio L. Wrote:  
(06-14-2022 02:39 AM)spiff72 Wrote:  Sorry for all the questions lately - and if the dev is busy that's totally OK.

For the Prime G1 implementation of newRPL:
- Is there a way to power off the calc, or do you just have to wait until it powers off automatically?
- Why are decimals values shown with a decimal as the separator, AND at the end of the number on the stack?
- I have experienced a graphics glitch several times since installing it on my Rev C hardware. This happens when it is powered down, and I press the On key to turn it on. The screen will be flickering and dark, and I can't get out of it without poking the reset button on the back. I would try turning it off and back on, but I don't think there is a button for this (see first question). I haven't left it in this condition long enough to see if it powers down automatically. It is still operational when in this state, but the screen looks bad. See this video for example: https://youtube.com/shorts/GPUZUKkSK2U

Thanks

We are well aware of this: it only happens if you turn the display off and back on quickly. The solution is to turn the calc off, wait 2 seconds or more, then turn it back on. We haven't been able to pinpoint the issue but it seems that when you turn off and back on quickly the LCD driver chip starts from a corrupted state. So far the only solution found was to slow down the off/on sequence, but we want newRPL to be instantaneous when you press the On key (unlike the PrimeOS, which will make you wait a short second), so slowing down is NOT a valid solution hence not implemented.

Just got a Prime G1 rev C, installed newRPL and have the same screen flickering issue as above.
Waiting minutes before restart does not help with mine.
Only fix i found is to reset the calculator that brings me back to HP system and memory lost on newRPL.
Is there any work around that issue ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-02-2022, 05:30 PM
Post: #229
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
(07-02-2022 05:27 PM)Chr Yoko Wrote:  
(06-19-2022 05:10 AM)Claudio L. Wrote:  We are well aware of this: it only happens if you turn the display off and back on quickly. The solution is to turn the calc off, wait 2 seconds or more, then turn it back on. We haven't been able to pinpoint the issue but it seems that when you turn off and back on quickly the LCD driver chip starts from a corrupted state. So far the only solution found was to slow down the off/on sequence, but we want newRPL to be instantaneous when you press the On key (unlike the PrimeOS, which will make you wait a short second), so slowing down is NOT a valid solution hence not implemented.

Just got a Prime G1 rev C, installed newRPL and have the same screen flickering issue as above.
Waiting minutes before restart does not help with mine.
Only fix i found is to reset the calculator that brings me back to HP system and memory lost on newRPL.
Is there any work around that issue ?

I find that turning it of by using Esc(hold) + On to turn off, and waiting 5-10 seconds generally works. Sometimes it doesn't, but I just try again, and evenutally I can get it back. I haven't had to reset after the flickering screen since I found the key combo for turning off.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-03-2022, 04:22 PM (This post was last modified: 07-07-2022 06:54 AM by Chr Yoko.)
Post: #230
RE: newRPL - Updated to build 1497 [official build remains at 1487]
I tried this many times without any result, i am still stuck into the blinky screen.
Only fix a hard reset using a pin. Other solution is to remove the battery.
Will try to re-install newRPL.

Edit:
1) I re-installed newRPL build 1497 using the newRPL desktop.
=> had an Exception Err:55755555
But no change, always the blinking screen at power "On"
2) I downgraded the Prime firmware to the 2021 04 28 version instead of the latest one from 2021 12
re- "bundled" newRPL 1497 with it and installed it
But no change, always the blinking screen at power "On"

then i played with the "On - Esc" then "On", waiting up to 5 min between Off and On... Still the blinking screen.
The i tried the opposite with fast cycling "off - on" and bingo got a succes after a dozen tries. I can repeat it.

As a conclusion, i would say that the "On" will work only if the calculator is at a certain state while on sleep mode. Just need some luck to catch that "certain state"...

edit 2: I tried to downgrade the Prime firmware to the 2020-01-16 version as i saw into another thread that it was free of some bugs on the Wait function. But that did not fixed my flickering issue at power on. Even worst i believe as i never was able to power on without the flickering after many trials. So i gave up and went back to the latest firmware version from 2021-12.

Actual status is that my Prime G1 with 2021-12 firmware and newRPL rev 1497 is perfectly useable after some quick "ON-OFF" cycling until it gets out of the flickering state.
I can enjoy and discover that great newRPL application now !
Thanks again to the creator(s) of such amazing tool/toy.

PS: I also ordered a cheap HP39GS from Ali to convert it to newRPL too as the used HP-50G market has become un-reasonable at the moment
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)