Post Reply 
New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems - FIXED w/ 20200121
01-18-2020, 09:34 PM (This post was last modified: 01-18-2020 09:37 PM by smp.)
Post: #41
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-17-2020 06:44 PM)Jet1945 Wrote:  
(01-17-2020 06:05 PM)smp Wrote:  My HP Connectivity Kit is indicating no updates available.
Is this another time that we have to do everything manually again?

smp

I downloaded the firmware and put the files is Connectivity folder under Firmware in the sub-folder marked PrimeG2.

The connectivity kit looks there for the updates.

Note: Ensure that you also DL the companion Connectivity Kit for the Firmware update (there is also a Virtual Calculator update too).

I apologize up front for my continued dumb-ness in this situation.

I finally jumped through all the Mac OS hoops to get the latest HP Connectivity Kit installed. I am now successfully running with HPCK 2.1.14425 (2020 1 16).

If I use the HPCK to check for updates, it reports that no updates are available.

Based on the advice quoted above, I returned to the HPCalc web site and looked here:
https://www.hpcalc.org/prime/pc/

I see there an entry for HP Prime Firmware 2.1.14425 (2020-01-16) right under the entry for the Mac OS HP Connectivity Kit. However, the contents of that .ZIP file are:
Code:

  Length      Date    Time    Name 
---------  ---------- -----   ---- 
 33554432  2020-01-16 07:20   PRIME_APP.DAT 
      708  2020-01-16 07:20   Prime_FW.md5 
  4194304  2018-10-04 13:35   PRIME_MASTER.DAT 
  1048576  2018-10-04 13:35   PRIME_OS.ROM 
    79276  2020-01-16 12:19   release_info.txt 
      538  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_CHS.html 
      727  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_DEU.html 
      597  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_EN.html 
      688  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_ESP.html 
      780  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_FRA.html 
      739  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_JPN.html 
      626  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_NLD.html 
      669  2019-12-17 06:00   release_info_PTB.html 
        3  2020-01-16 07:20   version_20200116 
---------                     ------- 
 38882663                     14 files

These files appear to be the files for the Prime G1 calculator. There is no HPPrime_OS.img file, which I believe would be the one for the Prime G2 calculator.

Am I missing something? Is is that the update for the Prime G2 has not yet been posted, or has been removed? Any advice or comments would be very welcome!

smp
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2020, 10:07 PM
Post: #42
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
I temporarily hid the listing for the G2 firmware because of the problems. You can still get it from the direct URL if you want it (it's the same as the G1 firmware but with a filename of HP_Prime_Calculator_G2_Firmware_20200116.zip).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2020, 10:18 PM
Post: #43
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-18-2020 08:25 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  Please go into the CFO diagnostics and report here the version info you see; perhaps there is a pattern such as all machines with digitizer from company XYZ work, while others do not, making it easier for Tim & Cyrille to locate and fix the problem.

My working G2 Prime shows this in the CFO diags:

EA656 Version Info
DATA Version: V14425
OS Version: 2.1
PCB Version: D
Touch IC FW Ver: GT5688-516

There are only 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2020, 10:36 PM
Post: #44
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-18-2020 09:34 PM)smp Wrote:  If I use the HPCK to check for updates, it reports that no updates are available.

The ConnKit looks at some magic web (or ftp) folder location of HP's for the proper f/w files to download and be ready to offer f/w upgrade in the ConnKit when you connect a machine of older f/w version. The required files simply have not been put into the magic location yet, as it surely requires a committee and some marketing budget to do so; they will eventually be there and once so, will be found as expected.

It just turns out that Eric is more efficient than all that... Wink

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2020, 10:47 PM
Post: #45
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
Hi:
My touch screen does not work either:

EA656 Version Info
DATA Version: V14181
OS Version: 2.1
PCB Version: D
Touch IC FW Ver: GT5688-516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2020, 10:54 PM (This post was last modified: 01-18-2020 10:56 PM by toml_12953.)
Post: #46
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-18-2020 08:25 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  Request for folks with working touchscreen on G2 running 20200116 f/w:

Please got into the CFO diagnostics and report here the version info you see; perhaps there is a pattern such as all machines with digitizer from company XYZ work, while others do not, making it easier for Tim & Cyrille to locate and fix the problem.

My touchscreen usually works but occasionally fails.

DATA Version: V14425
OS Version: 2.1
PCB Version: D
Touch IC FW Ver: GT5688-516

Tom L
I don't care for whom you voted. If you put ice in your beer, you're crazy.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2020, 11:11 PM (This post was last modified: 01-19-2020 12:11 AM by Jet1945.)
Post: #47
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-18-2020 10:36 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  
(01-18-2020 09:34 PM)smp Wrote:  If I use the HPCK to check for updates, it reports that no updates are available.

The ConnKit looks at some magic web (or ftp) folder location of HP's for the proper f/w files to download and be ready to offer f/w upgrade in the ConnKit when you connect a machine of older f/w version. The required files simply have not been put into the magic location yet, as it surely requires a committee and some marketing budget to do so; they will eventually be there and once so, will be found as expected.

It just turns out that Eric is more efficient than all that... Wink

For smp and Everyone - Let me decode the things and locations for ALL MAC Users.

Assumption - Sometime in the past you have installed the HP Connectivity Kit and (maybe) the HP Virtual Calculator.

On a "virgin" installation of the Conn Kt and the Virtual Prime - the installation creates in the DOCUMENTS Folder -two folders: HP Connectivity Kit, the other HP Prime. Each of these has sub-folders that are used appropriately:

HP Connectivity Kit Folder has the following subfolders:
Backups
Calculators
Content
Documentation
Firmware
Temp

HP Prime Folder has the following sub-folders:
Backups
Calculators
Documentation
Language
Skins
Temp

The uses of each of the subfolders are probably obvious to everyone. In the HP Conn Kit subfolder Firmware are two additional sub-folders: PrimeG1 and PrimeG2. This is where the firmware files that you download, appropriate to your Prime, go. Because the Mac "un-zips" the firmware zip file when downloaded, I just copy the files (in my case just G2) into the appropriate sub folder. The "un-zipped" files are located in the Downloads folder in a folder all their own labeled HP_Prime_Firmware_xxxxxx. It is from there that I copy the 11 files to paste into the PrimeG2 subfolder. Before I paste the "new" files, I copy (to save someplace else), then delete the "old" files in the Prime G2 folder - THEN, copy the "new" 11 files into Prime G2.

For the Conn Kit folder - I have found that the Calculator folder contains files for each of the Calculators that have been hooked up to it; in my case the virtual calc and my actual Prime. Content contains any files I may have dragged-dropped into the Conn Kit Content Window. The Doc and Temp folders are always empty for me.

In the HP Prime folder, the only thing I have used is the Skins folder. I have found some "weird" looking Skins in various places on the 'net. If you place the files here, they will show up in the Skins dropdown for selection.

My apologies if this is redundant for some of you, but from a few of the questions implied not knowing about the folder and use structure for Mac Users.

Edited to Add ('cause I forgot) - The Conn Kit does NOT track the version of the firmware in the PrimeG1/G2 folders. It just will associate that the version in the folder is different from the version installed on the actual calculator - If it is different, the Conn Kit will flash (install) whatever is in the appropriate folder (G1 or G2). I have Really, really ..... verified this because I have banged back and forth between three different versions of PrimeG2 firmware; all it takes is ... patience.

Edited to Add ('cause I keep forgetting sh... Stuff) - Always, always, always ... download and install the companion Conn Kit (and Virtual Calculator, if you use it) for the Firmware that you are installing. That makes 3 major files you need to DL to update things.

I install the Conn Kit first, then the Virtual Calculator before I think of even copying and pasting Firmware files for update. On The Mac - the first attempted launch of the Conn Kit will get you a dialog box that says something about possible malicious software and such; this is caused because HP hasn't updated their Security Certs that go into the program when it compiles. Consequently, the Mac Security squawks. WORKAROUND - click OK on the dialog box. Then go to System Preferences and select Security and Privacy icon. When that Preference Pane comes up - in the bottom third it will say HP Connectivity Kit tried to launch (or something like that) - at the right of that wording will be a radio button that says Allow Anyway. Press that and follow the bouncing ball.

The same process will happen when you launch the HP Virtual Calculator for the first time. Once you have done the Allow Anyway thing - it allows the program to run every time.

After you have launched the Conn Kit, go ahead and quit it (you don't have to) and go about moving the new Firmware around to the proper folder and then updating.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 03:11 AM
Post: #48
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-18-2020 08:25 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  The Diagnostics "Version Info" option reports:

DATA Version : V14425
OS Version : 2.1
PCB Version : D
Touch IC FW Ver : ilitek-00

[Note: these details appear to be quite different from Mark Hardman's machine info posted above, which also has the non-working touchscreen]

The Version Info I originally posted was from the G2 after reverting to 20181016. Just to be sure, I re-flashed to 20200116. At that release, my results are identical to Bob's:

DATA Version : V14425
OS Version : 2.1
PCB Version : D
Touch IC FW Ver : ilitek-00

Ceci n'est pas une signature.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 03:11 AM
Post: #49
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
Updated G2 with Windows 10 x64 & latest CK and my touch screen doesn't work too.

EA656 Version Info
DATA Version: V14425
OS Version: 2.1
PCB Version: D
Touch IC FW Ver: ilitek-00
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 05:47 AM (This post was last modified: 01-19-2020 09:34 PM by JDW.)
Post: #50
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-18-2020 02:48 PM)grsbanks Wrote:  Your CK is reporting being unable to find files in:

/Users/jdw/Documents [....]

Your Finder is showing the contents of:

/Users/jdw 1/Documents [...]

Thank you for pointing that out. That was the problem. Despite all the talk of AI we have in the news these days, the Connectivity Kit has nothing close to that, such that if you change your Home folder name, the Connectivity Kit can't figure out what the new one is for some reason. I hand-edited that path in the Connectivity Kit, and then relaunching it with my Prime connected automatically brought up the Firmware update dialog. So it was the name of my user that had changed which caused all this trouble for me. Thank you again for your help with that.

Even so, the separate problem I mentioned earlier still remains with the Prime emulator. it still throws an error on my Mac whenever I try to launch it. :-(
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 03:05 PM (This post was last modified: 01-19-2020 03:08 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #51
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
The problem is that it is attempting to use the driver for the new IC that is not in ANY units out there (and only in some cases). The question is why...

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 03:55 PM
Post: #52
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
For when the updating issues are resolved, what is new on the 200116?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 03:56 PM
Post: #53
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-19-2020 03:05 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  The problem is that it is attempting to use the driver for the new IC that is not in ANY units out there (and only in some cases). The question is why...

Murphy would say "because it can..." but I'll wait for your more informed and more useful reply.

Thanks for following up on this Tim.

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 06:39 PM
Post: #54
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
Upgraded new firmware 20200116 on Windows 10 64-bit. Upgraded my G1 Prime with no issues, OK. After upgrading my G2, the touchscreen also did not work. Formatting the C: drive using CFO and reset did also not fix the issue. The touchscreen tests also fail in the Diagnostics.

The Diagnostics "Version Info" option reports:

Data Version V14181
OS Version 2.1
PCB Version D
Touch IC FW Ver GT5688-516

S/N 9CJ83300DM

After reverting to version 20181016, the touchscreen works OK.
Daiman
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 07:30 PM
Post: #55
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-19-2020 05:47 AM)JDW Wrote:  
(01-18-2020 02:48 PM)grsbanks Wrote:  Your CK is reporting being unable to find files in:

/Users/jdw/Documents [....]

Your Finder is showing the contents of:

/Users/jdw 1/Documents [...]

Thank you for pointing that out. That was the problem. Despite all the talk of AI we here, the Connectivity Kit has nothing close to that, such that if you change your Home folder name, the Connectivity Kit can't figure out what the new one is for some reason. I hand-edited that path in the Connectivity Kit, and then relaunching it with my Prime connected automatically brought up the Firmware update dialog. So it was the name of my user that had changed which caused all this trouble for me. Thank you again for your help with that.

You've got me curious. Did you change the name of your Home folder before or after you installed the Connectivity Kit the first time? If it was after, I could understand if the CK's paths were already set.

Sorry if this is a silly question, but when you changed the Home folder's name, did you also change the HOME environmental variable globally? (I'm not a Mac user, but I'm assuming it uses HOME in the same way unix does.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 09:42 PM
Post: #56
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
(01-19-2020 07:30 PM)Wes Loewer Wrote:  
(01-19-2020 05:47 AM)JDW Wrote:  Thank you for pointing that out. That was the problem. Despite all the talk of AI we here, the Connectivity Kit has nothing close to that, such that if you change your Home folder name, the Connectivity Kit can't figure out what the new one is for some reason. I hand-edited that path in the Connectivity Kit, and then relaunching it with my Prime connected automatically brought up the Firmware update dialog. So it was the name of my user that had changed which caused all this trouble for me. Thank you again for your help with that.

You've got me curious. Did you change the name of your Home folder before or after you installed the Connectivity Kit the first time? If it was after, I could understand if the CK's paths were already set.

Sorry if this is a silly question, but when you changed the Home folder's name, did you also change the HOME environmental variable globally? (I'm not a Mac user, but I'm assuming it uses HOME in the same way unix does.)

I was troubleshooting FCPX last year and I created a new user named JDW_1 and then copied files from my JDW user into that new user. I ultimately deleted the old user. All paths remained the same except the user name now has underbar and 1 at the end. I used MacOS and not any Unix terminal commands, so I cannot comment on environmental variables.

To repeat...

I was on able to update the firmware on my G1 Prime by changing the path in the Connectivity Kit, but the Prime MacOS emulator app still does not work because it throws an error dialog box when I try to launch it. That’s the unresolved problem right now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 11:21 PM
Post: #57
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
Upgraded Prime G1. All is OK.
Upgraded Prime G2. Touch screen do not work. FCO reset did not help.
EA656 Version Info
DATA Version : V14425
OS Version : 2.1
PCB Version : D
Touch IC FW Ver : ilitek-00
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2020, 11:39 PM
Post: #58
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
Just reinstalled previous firmware version on Prime G2. All OK.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2020, 12:05 AM
Post: #59
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
After firmware downgrade to version 20181016:
EA656 Version Info
Data Version : V14181
OS Version : 2.1
PCB Version : D
Touch IC FW Ver : GT5688-516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2020, 07:08 AM
Post: #60
RE: New G2 Firmware 20200116 - Problems
Hello,

As Tim has explained, the current touch chipset which detects touches on the screen and converts them to touch locations for the CPU is going "End Of Line", meaning that the manufacturer will stop producing it.

As a result, we will be moving G2 manufacturing to a new chipset in the next couple of months (note that apart from 10 prototypes or so, NO calculators "in the wild" should have this new chipset).

This beta has drivers for both touch chipset. It is supposed to use a couple of CPU IO Pins dedicated to indicate "HW revision" to figure out which chipset is present.

If after the upgrade a Prime G2 touch screen stops working, it most likely means that it is mis-identified as a "newer" HW, which should not happen. But, hey, Murphy (a very interesting read on the history of Murphy's law: http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/...xpression/)!!!


So, for those that have the touch screen issue, can you please check something for me.

- Disconnect the calculator from the PC.
- Reboot the calculator in "update mode" (Press the ON key, press the Symb key, release the ON key, BUT KEEP THE Symb key pressed!) it should get you to the "base" update screen with a large HP logo and "HP Prime update mode" display.
On the top left, you should see 2 numbers a 3 and some other number. Can you please report what this number is?
Try it a couple a times and make sure it always report the same number.
This number is the "internal HW revision", which correspond to the values of these CPU IO pins described earlier...

My best guess is that the HW detection mechanism is unreliable... Probably due to some delays in the GPIO lines....
Another possibility is that some machines have been badly manufactured with the wrong IO pin selection, but this is a low probability in my opinion...

Thanks,
Cyrille

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own. I do not speak for HP.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)