Post Reply 
solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
05-23-2018, 04:29 PM (This post was last modified: 06-17-2018 02:39 AM by compsystems.)
Post: #1
solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
It is known that the logic of the HP-PRIME HOME mode inherit from HP38/39/40 calcs of pre-assigning variables to objects,

A, B… Z for reals,
Z0, … Z9 for complex,
L0, L1… L9 for lists,
M0, M1… M9 for vectors or matrices etc.,

affect the logic of the programs in CAS, many students do not know why their source code fails to execute it.

The solution is to use A ... Z 0...9 characters and numbers UNICODE and non-ASCII A ... Z, 0, ..., 9

0: FF10
..
9: FF19
A: FF21
Z: FF3A

A≠A
L0≠L0
M0≠M0

This involves break free the characters A..Z 0...9 ASCII and their combinations as for example L0, M0 to store any object

This is done by the Classpad calculator, in the following image you can see that the variable in italics is different from the normal variable


[Image: image022.gif]



AB=A*B ≠ AB ≠ A*B

the unicodefont of the hp-prime
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ0123456789
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ0123456789are similar to the ASCII
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPWQRSTUVWXYZ0123456789, please hpp_team modify as it appears in this forum, making the characters visualized for example in italics and/or bold

abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

Good Idea? +1

LO SUFICIENTEMENTE BUENO ES ENEMIGO DE LA EXCELENCIA.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2018, 04:17 AM
Post: #2
RE: solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
It would be very good, great idea, it is necessary to change the typeface and even better so in bold, it would be much easier and intuitive to work the HP PRime.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2018, 05:40 AM
Post: #3
RE: solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
I don't like the idea. I like the Vars Menu and all of the preassigned variables. It's quite a convenient method to access data via typing them into the stack. I can type [Alpha] [ M ] 1 [ENTER] to recall a stored matrix for example. That's only 4 keystrokes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2018, 07:39 AM (This post was last modified: 07-21-2018 08:09 AM by ijabbott.)
Post: #4
RE: solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
Those characters are "Fullwidth Forms" and are really intended for typesetting Chinese/Japanese/Korean (CJK) texts as they are the same width as Chinese characters.

The Classpad does not use UNICODE. It has a more limited character set and uses a custom multibyte encoding (not UTF-8).

— Ian Abbott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2018, 05:27 PM (This post was last modified: 07-24-2018 05:39 PM by compsystems.)
Post: #5
RE: solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
(07-21-2018 05:40 AM)Carsen Wrote:  I don't like the idea. I like the Vars Menu and all of the preassigned variables. It's quite a convenient method to access data via typing them into the stack. I can type [Alpha] [ M ] 1 [ENTER] to recall a stored matrix for example. That's only 4 keystrokes.

With [SHIFT] + [4 / MATRIX] displays the list of variables reserved for arrays.

With the idea that I propose solves the problems of defining reserved variables using Latin characters

please see:
http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-10494.html

CAS:
V1(X,Y):=X-2*Y=7; V2(X,Y):=5*X-3*Y=2; returns (X,Y)->false,(X,Y)->false ?

with V≠ V, X≠Y, Y≠Y
CAS:
V1(X,Y):=X-2*Y=7; V2(X,Y):=5*X-3*Y=2; // ok

LO SUFICIENTEMENTE BUENO ES ENEMIGO DE LA EXCELENCIA.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2018, 09:50 PM
Post: #6
RE: solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables Z1:=3+4*i in HOME mode
(07-24-2018 05:27 PM)compsystems Wrote:  With [SHIFT] + [4 / MATRIX] displays the list of variables reserved for arrays.

Correct, however recalling a matrix into the stack cannot be done with [Shift] 4 (as far as I know). Pressing [Alpha] M 1 [ENTER] in Home while in RPN mode recalls the matrix onto the stack, ready for a calculation. Typing [Alpha] M 1 in Home while in Textbook or Algebraic mode is all it takes to use a matrix in a calculation. This is what makes the preassigned variables so convenient in my eyes.

(07-24-2018 05:27 PM)compsystems Wrote:  CAS:
V1(X,Y):=X-2*Y=7; V2(X,Y):=5*X-3*Y=2; returns (X,Y)->false,(X,Y)->false ?

with V≠ V, X≠Y, Y≠Y
CAS:
V1(X,Y):=X-2*Y=7; V2(X,Y):=5*X-3*Y=2; // ok

I have a question. Why enter these equations into V1, V2, etc... on the Home and CAS view?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)