Post Reply 
VC crash?
02-19-2017, 04:45 PM
Post: #1
VC crash?
It seems like the coeff() command may only accept expressions with less than three variables. I don't know for sure. It may just be something quirky in my setup, but if you have the time and willingness to test this, I would like to find out if it crashes your Virtual Calc as well. coeff() seems to work fine as long as there are less than four variables in an expression: (You can copy and paste the command lines)

[CAS MODE]
L0:={"2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"};
L1:={{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}};

(VC Works ok)
coeff(CAS(L0(1)),L1(1));

(Crashes my VC)
coeff(CAS(L0(2)),L1(2));
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 06:56 PM
Post: #2
RE: VC crash?
(02-19-2017 04:45 PM)DrD Wrote:  It seems like the coeff() command may only accept expressions with less than three variables. I don't know for sure. It may just be something quirky in my setup, but if you have the time and willingness to test this, I would like to find out if it crashes your Virtual Calc as well. coeff() seems to work fine as long as there are less than four variables in an expression: (You can copy and paste the command lines)

[CAS MODE]
L0:={"2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"};
L1:={{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}};

(VC Works ok)
coeff(CAS(L0(1)),L1(1));


(Crashes my VC)
coeff(CAS(L0(2)),L1(2));

No crash on my iPad if that is if interest

[Image: IMG_0360_zpssovqskrd.jpeg]

Cheers, Terje
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 07:38 PM
Post: #3
RE: VC crash?
Thanks, Terje. I should have mentioned that I am seeing this VC crash on a windows machine, but your test is still good information!

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 03:53 AM
Post: #4
RE: VC crash?
(02-19-2017 04:45 PM)DrD Wrote:  ... I would like to find out if it crashes your Virtual Calc as well.
Yes.
(win7 x64, VC Build: 2016 12 8. Rev:11226)

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 11:24 AM
Post: #5
RE: VC crash?
Thanks, Chromos. This problem has been driving me nuts. It seems that on some systems the VC will crash on it, while others don't. I know I could make a work-around routine to do the same thing, but having the built in command is much more convenient. I am trying to identify which systems, so that a bug report would be meaningful. I appreciate that you have taken the time to try it!

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 11:39 AM
Post: #6
RE: VC crash?
Latest Beta crashes the VC on my windows 10 machine.
Arno
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 12:46 PM
Post: #7
RE: VC crash?
Great, thanks for the report, Arno. I think I may prematurely conclude that I haven't gone completely nuts! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 02:11 PM
Post: #8
RE: VC crash?
dell laptop at work, running windows 7, crashes
older dell laptop at home, also running windows 7, returns [2,1,2,1]

-road
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 02:19 PM
Post: #9
RE: VC crash?
I wonder what causes that difference? I was thinking it might be a win7 issue, but maybe it has to do with the hardware, instead. Video system, etc.

Thanks, Road.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 02:54 PM (This post was last modified: 02-21-2017 03:40 PM by roadrunner.)
Post: #10
RE: VC crash?
At home (where it works):
win 7, 32 bit
VC build 10637

At work (where it doesn't work):
win 7, 64 bit
VC build 11226

I also have another 64 bit win 7 computer at home, VC build 10637; it works as expected

It appears something crept in between build 10637 and 11226.

-road
edited
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2017, 02:59 PM (This post was last modified: 02-20-2017 03:00 PM by Han.)
Post: #11
RE: VC crash?
It may also be helpful to know if each user has existing CAS variables stored on their VC. You can check using the memory browser. Pay attention to any "unnamed" or "mangled" CAS variable names.

Also, check to see if x and y are defined. (If typing x and y into the CAS view returns x and y again, then they are not defined.)

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 06:45 AM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 07:51 AM by Terje Vallestad.)
Post: #12
RE: VC crash?
Error
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 02:16 PM
Post: #13
RE: VC crash?
In CAS mode also crash

purge(x,y,z,w);
DelHVars({"x", "y", "z","w"});
L0:={2x+y+2z,2x+y+2z+w};
L1:={{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}};
coeff((L0[2]),L1[2]);

Another situation
purge(x,y);
DelHVars({"x", "y"});
solve(x^2+((3*y/2)-√(ABS(x)))^2=2-(1/(2*2)),y); [enter]
show a warning msg and then does not allow it to close, (screen lock)
Happens, setting flag: use i.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 03:06 PM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 03:08 PM by Han.)
Post: #14
RE: VC crash?
Windows 7 Pro, SP 1 (set up for 32-bit mode)

1. Open the VC, select Calculator > Reset WARNING: this resets your virtual calculator (obviously)! Back up your state ( Documents folder > HP Prime > Calculators > Prime (or Prime_X )

2. CAS view:

L0:={2x+y+2z,2x+y+2z+w};
L1:={{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}};
coeff((L0[2]),L1[2]);

No errors/problems. Using Rev. 11226 (http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-742...ight=11226)

For those who do not want to do a reset, you can use:

restart; // deletes all CAS variables (purge is not sufficient if there is CAS corruption)
DelHVars({"x", "y", "z", "w"}); // deletes the selected Home variables
L0:={2x+y+2z,2x+y+2z+w};
L1:={{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}};
coeff((L0[2]),L1[2]);

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 04:02 PM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 05:19 PM by compsystems.)
Post: #15
RE: VC crash?
Sending to the entry line of VirtCalc v11226

restart; DelHVars( {"x", "y", "z", "w"}); L0:={2x+y+2z,2x+y+2z+w}; L1:={{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}};
[enter] ok, Lists are stored with symbolic expressions

You can not store symbolic expressions in L0, ... L1 from list editor
can be proved, goto LIST EDITOR [Shift]+[7] L0 or L1 [edit] [edit] -> syntax error

L0(1); -> 2*x+y+2*z
L0[1]; -> {2*x+y+2*z,w+2*x+y+2*z} why?

L0(2); -> w+2*x+y+2*z
L0[2]; -> {2*x+y+2*z,w+2*x+y+2*z} ?


L1(1); -> {x,y,z}
L1[1]; -> {{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}} ?

L1(2); -> {x,y,z,w}
L1[2]; -> {{x,y,z},{x,y,z,w}} ?

coeff(2*x+y+2*z, {x,y,z}); -> [2,1,2]
coeff(L0(1),L1(1)); -> [2,1,2]

coeff(w+2*x+y+2*z, {x,y,z,w}); Even entering the expressions directly on each arg, crash
or
coeff(L0(2),L1(2)); crash

//////////////

For symbolic arrays stored in M0, ... M9 (CAS MODE)

M1:=["2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"]; or M1:=[2x+y+2z,2x+y+2z+w]; [enter] "Error: Bad argument type" Why?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 04:33 PM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 04:38 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #16
RE: VC crash?
(03-01-2017 04:02 PM)compsystems Wrote:  You can not store symbolic expressions in L0, ... L1,

Yes you can. Lists may contain any object type.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 04:38 PM
Post: #17
RE: VC crash?
So sometimes I get a crash, and other times I do not.

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 04:42 PM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 10:59 PM by compsystems.)
Post: #18
RE: VC crash?
(03-01-2017 04:33 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Yes you can.

You can only from entry-line, and not form list editor, because when you edit it (list editor) says "syntax error"
follow the steps

1: goto CAS HISTORY VIEW
2: L0:={2x+y+2z, 2x+y+2z+w}; [ENTER]
then
3: [Shift]+[7] find L0 [edit] [edit] [ok] syntax error, Why? If it was allowed by the entry line, there must be agreement

currently the list editor does not allow you to create lists with symbolic expressions in the CAS environment (This should be improved)
The list editor not allow en HOME mode create lists with symbolic expressions (ok), except with strings L0:= {"2*x+y+2*z","w+2*x+y+2*z"}

And why from entry line does not allow to create matrices with string symbolics? And for lists yes
from M0, ... M10
M0:=["2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"]; [enter] "Error: Bad argument type" Why?
for >= M10
M11:=["2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"]; [enter] ok


IDEA: To recall variables in each environment

L0; or M0; for HOME MODE
CAS.L0, or CAS.M0 for CAS MODE
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 05:24 PM
Post: #19
RE: VC crash?
(03-01-2017 04:42 PM)compsystems Wrote:  And why from entry line does not allow to create matrices with string symbolics? And for lists yes
from M0, ... M10
M0:=["2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"]; [enter] "Error: Bad argument type" Why?
for > M10
M11:=["2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"]; [enter] ok

M0 through M9 are pre-defined variables for matrices of real or complex values only. M10, M11, etc. are user-created variables.

Lists can hold anything.

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2017, 05:54 PM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 05:55 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #20
RE: VC crash?
(03-01-2017 04:42 PM)compsystems Wrote:  currently the list editor does not allow you to create lists with symbolic expressions

No, it does not allow you to "create" any lists AT ALL. Only objects that exist on entry show up in there. Same with the matrix editor.

[CAS] mylist:={x+y,z}; mymat:=[[x,y],[z,w]];


Now open the list or matrix editor and you will see a CAS list/matrix in there. They can be edited just as if in the cas environment and will accept the same inputs.

Quote:M11:=["2x+y+2z","2x+y+2z+w"]; [enter] ok

As Han explains, because you have defined a cas matrix named M11.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)