WP 34s alpha mode
03-25-2015, 02:09 AM
WP 34s alpha mode
Hi,

I'm a beginner to programming on HP calculators and had some confusion when I was trying to key in this program:

http://www.hpmuseum.org/cgi-sys/cgiwrap/...?read=1102

How are you supposed to key in this part:

"012 [alpha]IP X
013 [alpha] ,
014 [alpha]IP Y
015 [alpha] )"

I can't seem to key in this when it is alpha mode.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2015, 03:09 AM
RE: WP 34s alpha mode
These commands are in the X.FCN menu.

- Pauli
03-25-2015, 03:38 AM
OK I got it to work thanks.
03-25-2015, 08:17 AM (This post was last modified: 04-08-2015 07:45 AM by BarryMead.)
An alternative to manually typing in a program with calculator keystrokes is to compile it with the library tools in the wp34s/trunk/tools directory. The 'MIO' program wouldn't be my first choice as an example, since it is already included in the standard flash library, but since you
brought it up I used it as an example of how to compile a .wp34s library source file into a custom RAM image which can be loaded into the emulator or calculator. In this particular example the original listing shown in your link above would not compile because of a couple of typos, but this one does:
Code:

001 LBL'MIO'
002 LBL A           //-- Works on entire matrix elements
003 SF 13
004 M-ALL
005 STO I
006 LBL 01        // begin of the loop through the matrix
007 RCL I
008 RCL L
009 M.IJ
010 CL[alpha]            // shows the next element indexes
011 [alpha] (
012 [alpha]IP X
013 [alpha] ,
014 [alpha]IP Y
015 [alpha] )
016 RCL[->]I
017 PROMPT
018 STO[->]I            // Store element to keep  any change
019 ISG I
020 GTO 01        // End of the loop through the matrix
021 RCL L
022 FS? 13              // Is it B who called LBL A?
023 GTO A               // Cycles through the same matrix
024 LBL B           //-- Works on one chosen matrix element
025 CF 13
026 CL[alpha]
027 [alpha]'R|C'
028 PROMPT
029 x[<->] Y
030 RCL Z