Disable "Last Answer" automatic insertion
03-20-2024, 10:50 PM
Disable "Last Answer" automatic insertion
Hello,

I apologize if this is already documented somewhere, but I could not find such a solution posted.

The HP prime will automatically insert the previous answer "Ans" if an operator is used without a value. I will include a screenshot from the quick start guide.

I would like to disable this functionality if possible.

Thank you! I am new to the prime, so I apologize if there is an obvious answer I am missing.

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-21-2024, 03:17 AM
RE: Disable "Last Answer" automatic insertion
This is a standard feature on all TI, Casio and HP graphing calculators that operate in Algebraic or Textbook entry mode. I don't believe there is a way to disable this feature on any of them.
Other than using RPN entry mode, I don't believe there is a way to disable this on the HP Prime.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
03-21-2024, 03:25 AM
There actually is a way to prevent Ans from appearing automatically. Just key a space first.

Example:
1+2 Enter --> 3
[space][subtract]5 Enter --> -5

This trick works on most calcs that have a space key, including the Prime and the RPL models in algebraic mode.

<0|ΙΈ|0>
-Joe-
03-21-2024, 04:12 AM (This post was last modified: 03-21-2024 05:51 AM by komame.)
(03-20-2024 10:50 PM)Benjamin Wrote:  The HP prime will automatically insert the previous answer "Ans" if an operator is used without a value. I will include a screenshot from the quick start guide.

I would like to disable this functionality if possible.