RPN to Algebraic and viceversa code
06-20-2023, 01:35 AM
RPN to Algebraic and viceversa code
Hello to everyone, I'm new in the world of the HP calculators, but now I'm a big fan to be honest, I'm studying Engineering, and my father-in-law gifted me a HP49G that I use everyday now, It was difficult at the start but now its part of me.

And part of this makes me interested to look for a code to simply pass from RPN to Algebraic mode with a button, as I found a code to pass from Rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates easily.

The code to pass from Rectangular to Polar coordinates is

Code:
<< -15 CF -17 CF -18 CF
IF -16 FS? 0 == THEN
-16 SF ELSE -16 CF END
>>

Source:

You put this code in a variable "R<->P" and in RPN mode changes with a button the coordinates you are working on and in algebraic mode with 2 buttons.

I don't know how to program this calculator, so, I'm asking for helpSad

If anyone can help me with a code that changes from RPN to Algebraic the same way as the code above would be helpful
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-20-2023, 08:41 PM (This post was last modified: 06-20-2023 08:53 PM by Gilles.)
RE: RPN to Algebraic and viceversa code
Hi DarkKnight,

HP49-50 are marvelous calculators. The flag to toggle RPN<->Algebraic is -95

-95 SF -> Algebraic
CF(-95) -> Go to RPN mode

But in my opinion it's a bad idea to toggle this way. In fact all the algebraic mode of the 49-50g is a bad idea lol. I never use it.

If you want to use algebraic expression in RPN mode, just use the ' key. Ex :

'3*SIN(33)/25'
And the press EVAL ou ->NUM

You can also use EQW (i love this, it takes 5 mn to undestand how it works with the doc and then you can manipulate expressions so easily for all your life !) in RPN mode ;D In fact it's very easy tu use algebraic expressions in RPN mode.

06-21-2023, 01:40 AM