Free42 LSTO REGS
09-25-2019, 03:52 PM
Free42 LSTO REGS
Greetings,

This is my first time posting. Generally, I've been content with just reading these forums, but I just discovered something about Free42's LSTO feature that I haven't seen mentioned anywhere and it's too exciting not to share!

This is how it started:

Code:
00 { 23-Byte Prgm }
01▸LBL "TstLSTO"
02 RCL "REGS"
03 LSTO "REGS"

If LSTO was used to create a local REGS, would all the commands that normally interact with REGS address that local REGS and leave the global REGS untouched?

I tried STO and RCL and their arithmetic, an assortment of STAT functions, ISG, DSE, printing the REGS, CLΣ and CLRG. I'm sure there's more, but all of these interacted with the local REGS and ignored the global one!

At the moment, I have no real need for this, but I rather like the idea that I can use the whole suite of REGS-related functions in a subroutine without worrying about their impact on previously stored data.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2019, 05:50 PM
RE: Free42 LSTO REGS
Wow that's cool!

It might also mean that if you have an old program that uses lots of registers and stores it's results on the stack, then you might be able to run it cleanly by doing LSTO "REGS" and then calling the program.
09-26-2019, 08:10 PM
(09-26-2019 05:50 PM)David Hayden Wrote:  Wow that's cool!

It might also mean that if you have an old program that uses lots of registers and stores it's results on the stack, then you might be able to run it cleanly by doing LSTO "REGS" and then calling the program.

You even can create temporary "REGS" for use in manual mode only
Code:

01 LBL "AREGS"
02 NEWMAT
03 LSTO "REGS"
04 STOP
05 RTN

Put your desired nRows and 1 on the STACK and run AREGS. After that you'll have that new set of registers available until you hit R/S, this will invoke RTN and thus reactivate the standard REGS.