Post Reply 
Trying to make a new back failed
08-11-2017, 01:37 AM
Post: #1
Trying to make a new back failed
Why the backup in the calculator memory manager disappears. Trying to make a new backup failed.

Hp Prime Graphing Calculator
Software Version:20170710 v12066
Hardware Version:A
CAS version:1.1.2-11
Operating System:v8291114.633
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 02:14 AM (This post was last modified: 08-11-2017 02:29 AM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #2
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
There are two reasons it can fail.

1. You don't have enough RAM to compress everything and store it to flash. Reboot the calculator (ON-SYMB) and try again. if you have more then a few megabytes in the calculator, this is probably the reason. (it has to hold a copy of the entire content, plus the size of the zip, plus another large blob of memory while it makes the zip) If that doesn't do it and you think you have enough RAM to hold everything in your calculator...

2. Your flash may be corrupted or something (pretty unlikely, #1 is the most likely reason). Format it after making a backup.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 03:24 AM
Post: #3
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
I just bought a calculator. There's a lot of memory left


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 03:53 AM
Post: #4
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
Then I would perform a format of the flash. Should be fine after that I think.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 04:04 AM
Post: #5
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
(08-11-2017 03:53 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Then I would perform a format of the flash. Should be fine after that I think.

How to format flash memory
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 08:59 AM
Post: #6
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
This is what I do:

From the connectivity kit, drag / drop programs (etc.) to an existing zip file. (I keep a master.zip file for this). After you've captured all the desired content:

(NOTE: This will clear existing user content).

Turn off the Prime.
Simultaneously hold down C-F-O keys and press the On key.
Select item 4 FLS Utility.
Select item 3, Format Disk C.
Select item 9, RESET to exit the DIAGNOSTIC pages.

After performing this procedure its a good time to update firmware from the conn kit.

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 11:17 AM
Post: #7
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
It's a bit of a hassle to update the operating system
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 12:59 PM (This post was last modified: 08-11-2017 12:59 PM by wangchong01.)
Post: #8
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
In fact, I think there must be something wrong with the backup system. My calculator often fails to backup and leaves me a backup 0.03kB, so I have to backup my programs to the computer or another calculator. Some of my backups sometimes even disappears when I finish a large backup(maybe 1MB or more). They may also reappear when I delete the large backup.
I'm now saving my programs to the computer. However, to my disappointment, some of my apps can't be transported to my calculator again! The calculator will restart just after I transport it with the connectivity kit. Now I even don't have a save way to safe my programs! Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 01:15 PM
Post: #9
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
How to do nothing to exit the diagnostic pages
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2017, 01:24 PM
Post: #10
RE: Trying to make a new back failed
Enter the diagnostic page, select the ninth item, solve the problem, and user content is not lost

thanks drd
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)