HP41 card reader repair
11-18-2023, 12:39 AM
HP41 card reader repair
Hello everyone.

A newbie here.

I am in the middle of repairing of two 41's and one card reader.
I got the reader from ebay today. Put it in working 41cx with fresh batteries. It sometimes does not switch on, sometimes does.
When I put a card in a slot, the calculator goes off and then "memory lost".
The reader is visualy intact. I am sure it was never opened.

Anyone got some hints what the possible problem might be? Looks like a short of some kind to me.

Also, I completely disassembled (including keyboard) one of the 41's - it is full nut tall keys 41c. I might post some pics of why I did it. Do you think it is a good idea to replace the tape covering the key domes with fresh one, maybe kapton?
Would like to clean the whole thing thoroughly.

Thank you in advance!

Karel
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2023, 12:16 PM
RE: HP41 card reader repair
Hi Karel,

IIRC once had a similar issue. It was corrosion on the I/O port. Those days I sent Diego some pictures and he discovered the fault that I could repair with some soldering.

So check the I/O port thoroughly.

Andi
11-18-2023, 01:34 PM
Thank you Andi.

The 41cx got port block from 41c for the time being. I am waiting for new ribbon from calculator store to repair the block for 41cx. It had bad battery leak. I cleaned the board thoug.
The 41c tallkey fullnut was in bad shape as well but no leakage as far as I can tell. I used its port block in 41cx while working on the 41c keyboard and display board.
The display was badly soldered on and there were snots of solder everywhere. It must have shortened some traces - the display was faulty. Few segments missing.

K.

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

11-18-2023, 05:10 PM
I found the picture where one can see the faulty connection

11-18-2023, 06:28 PM
Yep. Thank you for your effort!

I took out magnifying glass and found some green stuff on the module connector.

Yuck!