HP 48G+ over 50G?
12-15-2013, 07:26 AM
HP 48G+ over 50G?
Hello there guys,

I'm a civil engineering student and new to this whole hp forum. I've been using an hp 35s for the 3 years and I wanna move up a little with a graphing calculator. This summer I interned for an engineering firm. The engineer in charge of me used an HP 48gx and well I got use it whenever I had to go the field. I was amazed by the things it could do and I really liked the civil and surveying programs it had. Anyways, now that Christmas is getting closer I've decided to get myself a little present. I saved up to buy an HP 50g. I was really going for it until I saw an auction for the 48G+ for the same price of new 50G and it comes with user manual quick start guide and case. I read through some of the forums and some people go for the 48gx and others the 50g, there's really not much info/input on the G+, so I really can't tell which one will benefit me more. I know the differences between the gx and g+ in terms of technical specifications etc (one expandable the other not) and the 50g. I just wanna to know from your personal experience which one will you pick. I would definitely go for the gx but since this is the G+ I'm talking about what do you guys think? I really need some advice because I don't want to regret getting a 48G+.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2013, 11:14 AM (This post was last modified: 12-15-2013 11:44 AM by bhtooefr.)
RE: HP 48G+ over 50G?
The problem with the 48-series platform, in 2013, is that it's so limited for what you pay for.

Drawbacks to the 50g:
  • Build quality isn't what it used to be (it's still better than TI)
  • IIRC battery life can be a bit mediocre under heavy use
  • If you want to get really nitpicky, the keyboard isn't quite as responsive as it could be (although KEYTIME tuning is always an option)