Post Reply 
Access Matrix by row or column
12-28-2017, 11:26 AM
Post: #1
Access Matrix by row or column
Is there a command to select a specific column or row of a matrix?

Ie in Matlab this works:

A(3, : ) % Extract third row

The colon is used as a wildcard. I cant find a way to do this on the Prime except using SUB(), but that requires you to enter lists containing start and end indices of selected region so is not as convenient as wildcarding.

Actually, for a 2D Matrix, just using A(1) will select the 1st row ,but how to fo this for a column? I tried A(:,1) but this errors.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2017, 11:38 AM
Post: #2
RE: Access Matrix by row or column
col(M,n) and row (M,n) will do the job.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2017, 11:48 AM
Post: #3
RE: Access Matrix by row or column
(12-28-2017 11:38 AM)Arno K Wrote:  col(M,n) and row (M,n) will do the job.

Thanks, I should have checked the catalog!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2017, 11:49 AM (This post was last modified: 12-28-2017 03:36 PM by salvomic.)
Post: #4
RE: Access Matrix by row or column
(12-28-2017 11:38 AM)Arno K Wrote:  col(M,n) and row (M,n) will do the job.

yes. The Help mentions also the possibility to use an interval, but it doesn't give examples how to input the interval (both for row and cols)...

You can also use some code like this one to get a "minor" (giving the row and col to delete: i.e. using minor(2,3) in a 3x3 matrix deletes row 2 and col 3 and returns a matrix with (1,1), (1,2), (3,1), (3,2) ...
Code:

#cas
// Minor of a matrix
// r row, c col to delete
minor(m, r,c) :=
BEGIN
  m:= delrows(m,r);
  m:= delcols(m,c);
  RETURN m;
END;
#end

Salvo

EDIT: how should input the interval in row() and col() in Home?
In CAS it's ok row(M2,2..3), a standard way to input an interval: why not implement it also in Home?

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU) :: HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 39s 35s 12C 15C - DM42, DM41X - WP34s Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2017, 08:19 PM
Post: #5
RE: Access Matrix by row or column
(12-28-2017 11:26 AM)Stevetuc Wrote:  .....
Actually, for a 2D Matrix, just using A(1) will select the 1st row ,but how to fo this for a column? I tried A(:,1) but this errors.

You can use negative values to select columns: A(-1) selects the 1st column
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-29-2017, 02:45 PM
Post: #6
RE: Access Matrix by row or column
(12-28-2017 08:19 PM)JMB Wrote:  
(12-28-2017 11:26 AM)Stevetuc Wrote:  .....
Actually, for a 2D Matrix, just using A(1) will select the 1st row ,but how to fo this for a column? I tried A(:,1) but this errors.

You can use negative values to select columns: A(-1) selects the 1st column

Thanks, thats concise syntax!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)