Recommend Modules etc. for HP 41C
12-03-2017, 08:08 PM
Recommend Modules etc. for HP 41C
Hi everyone!
I am still waiting for my HP 41CV to arrive by mail, and I am sniffing around for interesting modules to use. Consider me a complete newbie to 41C here (I have 42S though, which I hear is the successor). I am not even sure how many modules can be connected at one time (I used to think 2, but now I wonder if I can use 4?), and if this ever causes any problems.

I would like to use the calculator for statistics and equations, and for playing around with (feel free to recommend games too!).

I like the sound of the Stat Pac (or maybe the Math/Stat Pac? Which is better?) and the Advantage Module. Maybe a card reader would be fun? Any more info would be greatly appreciated!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-03-2017, 09:08 PM
RE: Recommend Modules etc. for HP 41C
I think Stat Pac and Math/Stat Pac are the same, just two popular modules packed into one. This is possible as (single) normal module page takes one 4K address page, and a port occupy 8K.

There are 4 physical ports in total at the top of the calculator. (These give 8 address pages).

You can also consider a Clonix/NoV module, then you do not really need to hunt for physical modules and can program them as you like. The Clonix holds 6 pages, and Clonix-D holds 12 pages modules (can be partitioned into two sets if you like). This also allows you to load all (not at the same time!) of the many recent modules that do not exist in physical module form.

Some module utilize bank switching and squeeze multiple pages into the same address, Advantage has 3 pages but occupy 2 address pages (a full port slot).

The card reader is very cool and highly portable. An HP-IL module and a PILBox is even more powerful, but not as portable as you need to bring a laptop too.