Transferring programs to and from an HP41CL
11-23-2017, 01:03 PM
Transferring programs to and from an HP41CL
Hi,

What is the best way to transfer programs to and from the HP41CL using the serial port, and a Macintosh (no PC, no Linux).
I have downloaded the Ruby script to no success so far.
It would be nice to be able to use the Mac (or any other PC) as a virtual printer (print to file), like an HP82162A for example.
Maybe this is totally feasible, and has been done. I’m a newbie at this or with a CL for that matter.
Aside from the Ruby Script, I haven’t found any other info on this.

Thanks

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
2x HP41CL, HP41CX, HP48GX, HP50g, 2x82162A Printer, 2x82143A Printer, 2x HP-IL, 2x Card-Readers, PIL-BOX.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2017, 01:46 PM (This post was last modified: 11-23-2017 01:48 PM by Sylvain Cote.)
RE: Transferring programs to and from an HP41CL
(11-23-2017 01:03 PM)Neve Wrote:  What is the best way to transfer programs to and from the HP41CL using the serial port, and a Macintosh (no PC, no Linux).
By using the clupdate program of course Wink

Extract from the clupdate-1.0.0-readme.txt included in the clupdate-1.0.0.zip file.
Code:
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
H) loading UPDAT-2B.ROM ROM image into the 41CL  /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

This section will show you how to load the UPDAT-1G.ROM image into the 41CL

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::​::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

1) you must find which communication port your 41CL serial cable is connected to