Poll: How do you use yours
Collector
Daily driver (user)
[Show Results]
Note: This is a public poll, other users will be able to see what you voted for.
Collector or daily user
10-21-2017, 06:47 AM
RE: Collector or daily user
(10-21-2017 01:32 AM)Thomas Okken Wrote:  My HP-42S used to be my daily driver, until concern about the dwindling supply of these machines prompted me to preserve them in software, by writing Free42. Now Free42 is my daily driver, and my HP-42S is retired and lives in a desk drawer, next to my HP-25 and HP-67. I still get out all three of those machines from time to time, but that is just for fun. I never use them in the sense of getting something done. I do like having them, though. Whether that makes me a collector or not, I couldn't say.

Interesting bit about the birth of free42

Wikis are great, Contribute :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2017, 04:36 PM
I'm a daily driver, for sure. As a student, I don't think I'll use my calculator more in my life than now. I use the HP-12C (modern version) for my accounting class. I use my HP 50g for everything else.

If my HP-12C was to break, I can buy a new one and call it a day.

If my HP 50g breaks, I have a spare in my drawer in its package. It has been used only once to confirm the key quality, what version is on there, what apps are on there, get the batteries out of there so they don't explode, etc. I bought my current HP 50g for 65 U.S dollars and my spare was bought a month later at 68 U.S dollars.
10-21-2017, 05:08 PM
I collect them and use them too. In fact I bring a different one with me almost daily for my work needs. I mostly use the Spice series, like the HP-33E I have right now in front of me. Yes I am at work on Saturday :-(

Back to work­...
10-21-2017, 07:33 PM
Should shave a third vote header: user and collector.

Cycle through the cockpit based on most to least, the first two always with me: