Post Reply 
Only one cable?
03-13-2014, 12:48 AM
Post: #1
Only one cable?
Hi,
I receive my HP Prime today.. In the box, I only have one cable (Prime to computer) but no cable for Prime to Prime. Is it normal?
Thank...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2014, 01:39 AM
Post: #2
RE: Only one cable?
That is normal, the manual suggests there is a Prime to Prime cable but that is incorrect. There should have been a paper insert indicating that this was mis-communicated via the manual.

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2014, 01:41 AM
Post: #3
RE: Only one cable?
Thank you Han.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2014, 07:07 PM
Post: #4
RE: Only one cable?
Hi,

There is this intereting thread about communication between Primes. As stated there, that may not work in future firmware releases.

Regards,

Miguel
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2014, 03:49 AM (This post was last modified: 03-17-2014 03:50 AM by Michael de Estrada.)
Post: #5
RE: Only one cable?
(03-14-2014 07:07 PM)Miguel Toro Wrote:  There is this interesting thread about communication between Primes. As stated there, that may not work in future firmware releases.

Bummer ! I bought one two months ago thinking I could use it if I got a second Prime. The cable was only $1.99, but shipping was $9.49, so total cost was $11.48. So, just another addition to my expensive collection of useless cables.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2014, 02:00 PM
Post: #6
RE: Only one cable?
(03-17-2014 03:49 AM)Michael de Estrada Wrote:  
(03-14-2014 07:07 PM)Miguel Toro Wrote:  There is this interesting thread about communication between Primes. As stated there, that may not work in future firmware releases.

Bummer ! I bought one two months ago thinking I could use it if I got a second Prime. The cable was only $1.99, but shipping was $9.49, so total cost was $11.48. So, just another addition to my expensive collection of useless cables.

Hi Michael,

Does that mean that communicating between two Primes does not actually work? What was your experience?

Thanks,

Miguel
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2014, 02:23 PM
Post: #7
RE: Only one cable?
(03-17-2014 02:00 PM)Miguel Toro Wrote:  
(03-17-2014 03:49 AM)Michael de Estrada Wrote:  Bummer ! I bought one two months ago thinking I could use it if I got a second Prime. The cable was only $1.99, but shipping was $9.49, so total cost was $11.48. So, just another addition to my expensive collection of useless cables.

Hi Michael,

Does that mean that communicating between two Primes does not actually work? What was your experience?

Thanks,

Miguel

I don't know, since I only own one Prime at the present time, but I would assume it would work with the current firmware, since it does work with the Emulator. I was just responding to the other posts that suggest that future versions of the firmware might remove this capability.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2014, 02:51 PM (This post was last modified: 03-17-2014 02:51 PM by toml_12953.)
Post: #8
RE: Only one cable?
(03-17-2014 03:49 AM)Michael de Estrada Wrote:  Bummer ! I bought one two months ago thinking I could use it if I got a second Prime. The cable was only $1.99, but shipping was $9.49, so total cost was $11.48. So, just another addition to my expensive collection of useless cables.

It's not a useless cable, for now. I connect two Primes all the time with a cable I bought and communication works just fine. With all the bugs to be fixed, I don't think HP will spend time removing the calc-to-calc communication unless they need the ROM space to add a fix or feature.

Tom L
I think therefore I am-Descartes
I think therefore you are-Gorgias
You're not here to think-Army Sergeant
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-18-2014, 02:48 PM
Post: #9
RE: Only one cable?
There was a hard copy addendum in the box to ignore any references to Prime to Prime communications.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)