Tantalum Capacitors, what I've learned
05-07-2021, 04:42 PM
Tantalum Capacitors, what I've learned
I’ve been an electronics enthusiast for > 50 years, and inhaled a lot of solder flux fumes! Over the years I’ve learned a lot about both passive and active components. Specifically, electrolytic capacitors. I know if you install a conventional electrolytic backwards and apply the rated voltage, they will explode. Like many of you, I found this out the hard way! When installed properly, they have a limited lifetime. In my experience, after about 30-40 years, they can ‘dry out’ or otherwise fail. I’ve always assumed that tantalum electrolytics had a much longer lifetime and were immune to this type of failure. I’ve learned that this is not the case. Full disclosure – I am an electrochemist by training. I am NOT an electrical engineer, and I claim no special knowledge. Some of what I state below may be incorrect. Feel free to make corrections and to relieve me of some of my ignorance!

I assumed that all tantalum electrolytics were ‘dry’, ie: did not contain a liquid electrolyte and were not subject to drying out. This was not true. There are 2 types of tantalum caps, one with dry electrolyte and one with wet electrolyte. I assumed that the wet electrolyte tants would be subject to ‘drying out’ and would have a limited lifetime. This is true. I assumed that the dry electrolyte tants would have a longer lifetime. This is NOT true. My experience has shown me that they have the same 30-40 lifespan that all the other types of electrolytics do.

HP uses both dry and wet electrolytics in their calculators. They cost more that traditional electrolytics, but can pack more capacitance in a smaller space. Tants have a lower series resistance, too. This is important in switching power supplies and digital circuits.