HP 41 Card reader problem
02-05-2017, 08:15 PM (This post was last modified: 02-05-2017 08:44 PM by Cancuino.)
HP 41 Card reader problem
Hi,

I have a card reader with some kind of failure and maybe you can help me to fix it.

When I plug it, sometimes the calculator doesn't power on and when it does it kind of freezes and the motor of the reader doesn't start.

I'm a total newbie and looking forward to your advices.

Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2017, 08:53 PM
RE: HP 41 Card reader problem
Software or hardware?

Software:

Easiest to fix but tedious. Try a memory rest of calculator. Then try card reader.

Hardware:

Calculator: When inserting card reader entire shell can flex. With weak screw posts or loose screws the module/battery block connection and to a lesser extent the keyboard PCA connection may become intermittent causing erroneous displays or no display. Lots written up on screw posts in the archives.

Card reader: I take it this reader has a new pinch roller (o-ring or flex tubing). May be a connection on the plug or dirt. Clean contacts on both the male (calculator) and female (card reader module.

This is like a doctor diagnosing over the phone, very iffy at best. Try the above one at a time, starting with machine reset, cleaning modules, checking screw post integrity, cleaning module/battery block contact, PCA contact and keyboard contacts and if good then tightening screws (gently).

Geoff
02-05-2017, 09:08 PM
Hi Geoff,

I've just done the first one. Memory reset and then trying the card reader but the card doesn't move at all. I think that it could be something hardware related.

I will try the other things.

Thanks.
02-05-2017, 09:13 PM
I'm the next patient doc.