Post Reply 
[SOLVED] Newest fw INPUT syntax?
12-19-2016, 12:18 AM (This post was last modified: 12-19-2016 06:05 PM by chromos.)
Post: #1
[SOLVED] Newest fw INPUT syntax?
1) Please, do you anybody know which is new syntax for INPUT command? I need store expressions, something like A+B or G-K/L etc. It worked in previous fw, but I am unable understand current syntax - I tried "everything", but everytime I get orange exclamation mark and programm is still on INPUT screen.

2) Is there alternative to lname command in Home?

Thank you very much.

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2016, 02:24 AM
Post: #2
RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax?
(12-19-2016 12:18 AM)chromos Wrote:  1) Please, do you anybody know which is new syntax for INPUT command? I need store expressions, something like A+B or G-K/L etc. It worked in previous fw, but I am unable understand current syntax - I tried "everything", but everytime I get orange exclamation mark and programm is still on INPUT screen.

2) Is there alternative to lname command in Home?

Thank you very much.

It helps to share a snippet of your code so we can help debug.

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2016, 02:58 AM
Post: #3
RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax?
OK, this worked until fw update to latest release:

PHP Code:
INPUT(Temp,[2],"Expression","Variables must be in UPPERCASE! (e.g. A+B-4)"); 

I tried many variations of [2] - with different parentheses, even without them, at different places - with no success.

That line code is line # 293 from Geo Coords Solver:
http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-536...l#pid48133

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2016, 11:18 AM (This post was last modified: 12-19-2016 11:25 AM by DrD.)
Post: #4
RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax?
Did you create local variable Temp, first?

Would this adaptation be of any use to you?

Code:

EXPORT test()
BEGIN
  LOCAL Temp;

//  INPUT(Temp,[2],"Expression","Variables must be in UPPERCASE! (e.g. A+B-4)"); 

  INPUT(
         { {Temp, [2], {25,74,3} } }, 
         "Resolve Expression",
         "Expression",
         "Variables must be in UPPERCASE! (e.g. A+B-4)",
         "",
         ""
       );

  RETURN Temp;
END;

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2016, 04:56 PM
Post: #5
RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax?
(12-19-2016 12:18 AM)chromos Wrote:  1) Please, do you anybody know which is new syntax for INPUT command? I need store expressions, something like A+B or G-K/L etc. It worked in previous fw, but I am unable understand current syntax - I tried "everything", but everytime I get orange exclamation mark and programm is still on INPUT screen.

It seems to work fine for me here (provided Temp has been defined as pointed out).

Quote:2) Is there alternative to lname command in Home?

LNAME is also a home command. Takes an expression 'X^2+Y' for example, and returns { X, Y }. Does that do what you want?

If none of the answers given seem to help you, please post some snippets so we can see and help more.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2016, 06:00 PM
Post: #6
RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax?
Your example works, thank you very much, Dale.

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2016, 06:04 PM (This post was last modified: 12-19-2016 06:07 PM by chromos.)
Post: #7
RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax?
Thank you Tim for your advice about LNAME command in Home. I was almost sure I saw it somewhere in the past, but I didn't remember single quotes.

Both my questions are solved now.

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)