Post Reply 
Bug in solve app?
05-08-2016, 04:06 PM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2016 04:10 PM by German90.)
Post: #21
RE: Bug in solve app?
Hey Informach,
Thanks for the answer. I'm looking forward to the next firmware update. Also, I noticed that there is a problem using the solver apps and the CAS solve functions when you setup the calculator to 1.000.000,1 instead of 1,000,000.1. It doesn't recognise the extra dots in the number and starts changing the numbers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2016, 04:24 PM
Post: #22
RE: Bug in solve app?
Hi!, German90:

You can see, the post, of Joe_Horn, with, the solution ... http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Ha...-p/4156164

Kind Regards.
informach.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2016, 11:52 PM
Post: #23
RE: Bug in solve app?
(05-07-2016 02:44 PM)Dirk.nl Wrote:  Tim or Cyrille, can you help us, please? (Thanks)

http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-6149.html

Its actually the same issue as there. Characters are being trimmed off the end.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2016, 07:12 AM (This post was last modified: 05-10-2016 07:13 AM by Dirk.nl.)
Post: #24
RE: Bug in solve app?
Okay, Tim

I didn't know that, thanks!

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2016, 02:09 PM (This post was last modified: 05-10-2016 02:12 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #25
RE: Bug in solve app?
(05-10-2016 07:12 AM)Dirk.nl Wrote:  Okay, Tim

I didn't know that, thanks!

For example, I get this as the output for A,B,C,D on the last example now.

2.50125062531e−3,−3.75187593797e−2,−0.562781390695,8.4392196098

Which works out to within the numerical precision of the system.

The root cause of the issue happened between the last public release (8151) and the ios release. Internally, the string routines used wchar_t as the character type. However, wchar_t is not portable between systems and is 32 bits on linux/osx, but 16bits on ARM/windows. We had to work on all the files, strings, and data storage for the whole system to ensure file compatibility between systems (also to be 32/64 bit compatible). Unfortunately, we did miss this case in the solver. :-(

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2016, 02:26 PM
Post: #26
RE: Bug in solve app?
Thanks for your explanation, Tim. It gets difficult to explain when my results differ from those of others at times like these. Usually, I don't even try, as I don't know, and it just deteriorates from that point! Also, thanks for all of your diligent work and the special help offered us, here. From my point of view, I see the prime as still somewhat evolving, much better now, but perhaps still room to summit the mountain. Having guidance from your side, is well appreciated.

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2016, 04:57 PM
Post: #27
RE: Bug in solve app?
Hi Tim,
Thank you very, very much for your explanation!

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)