Students’ calcs in the 70s/80s
01-02-2024, 05:58 PM
RE: Students’ calcs in the 70s/80s
Don’t know if anyone can help with this?
I studied Pure Mathematics between 1980 - 1984 at University, the course included a 1 year Computer Science component.
My 1980s calculator was a Casio programmable - bought for me by my Father in Law!
It was step programmable and I think it was on of the Casio FX- models.
All I can remember is that it had a [PRG] button and 4 storage areas on 2 keys giving [P1], [P2], and inverse of those 2 gave [P3] and [P4] locations.
I can’t find the model - I’ve looked really hard honestly!
He bought it in 1980/81 and I think it was possibly one of the FX-80/81/82 range
Dennis

Denny Tuckerman
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-02-2024, 07:18 PM
(01-02-2024 05:58 PM)Leviset Wrote:  My 1980s calculator was a Casio programmable - bought for me by my Father in Law!
It was step programmable and I think it was on of the Casio FX- models.
All I can remember is that it had a [PRG] button and 4 storage areas on 2 keys giving [P1], [P2], and inverse of those 2 gave [P3] and [P4] locations.

[Prg] is on the fx-4000p but not the four program slots. They are present on less capable models like the fx-200p. I can’t recall any model sporting those two features together but I may be wrong. Anyway, take a look at http://rskey.org/CMS/exhibit-hall?view=article&id=94 - not exhaustive but the eighties are covered pretty well IMHO…
Find all posts by this user
01-02-2024, 07:32 PM
(01-01-2024 06:27 PM)badaze Wrote:  In France, in the 1980’s, teachers were not really aware of the capabilities of programmable calculators or pocket basic computers.
In my lycee anno 1984 I suppose they were a bit aware of calculators. https://lycee-freyssinet.fr/