help with solving equations with complex values and or phasors
04-22-2016, 07:03 AM
help with solving equations with complex values and or phasors
Hello I am a EE student and I really need help. I have looked in the manual and online and I can not find any way to solve a system of equations with complex values in either polar or rectangular forms.

A quick example of what I am trying to do ill use "<" to represent an angle for a number in polar format i.e. a phasor 5.5<25volts, and j to be the square root of -1 for a number in rectangular format i.e. 4.98+j2.32.

I did a mesh analysis on a circuit and came up with with:

I*(50+40+j*497.418+330)-7<0=0

I need to solve for I, I did this by hand simply by moving the 7<0 over to the right hand side and then dividing by (50+40+j*497.418+330). So I got I = (7<0/(50+40+j*497.418+330)) = 1.075*10^-2 <-49.823 A. This is verified to be the correct answer with my professor.

Now doing that by hand is not a big deal, but when I need to solve say 3 equations with 3 unknowns containing complex values then i'm in real trouble as that would take way longer than I would have on the exam.

Can someone please help, I have tried using the cZeros({X*(50+40+j*497.418+330)=7},{X}) function on the CAS system but get the wrong answer, and the normal solve app that is usually easy to use wont even give me a result just "constant" and "bad guess" errors. This should be possible as Ti-89 and N-spire as well as hp 50g can do it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-22-2016, 08:59 AM (This post was last modified: 04-22-2016 09:05 AM by Nigel (UK).)
RE: help with solving equations with complex values and or phasors
I have a couple of suggestions to make:
  • I don't think you can use "j" for the square root of -1.
  • I assume you are using blue-shifted "x" for the angle sign, not "<".
  • Capital "I" is a Home variable and this isn't recognised by the CAS.
I entered, in CAS mode,
Code: