HP 41cv - surveyor needs help please
01-18-2016, 03:19 PM
HP 41cv - surveyor needs help please
Help! I'm a land surveyor, and I use my 41cv with survey module for traverse and curve solutions mostly. I just had to replace my batteries after 5 years - and lost my keys I had set to go right to Trav and curve programs. I have checked on line and all the instructions I see are past what I remember as to setting up these keys. I remember I had the Trav program set up where all I had to do was hit shift and the letter T - and I was in the program. For curves, it was shift and the letter R.
Can someone help me get my 41 cv back to where I can get this set up like it was before?
Many thanks, and my apologies for being a bit brain-dead about this today.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2016, 04:21 PM
RE: HP 41cv - surveyor needs help please
Maybe you just have to enable user mode...?
01-18-2016, 04:28 PM (This post was last modified: 01-18-2016 04:34 PM by Geoff Quickfall.)
Assuming the routine is called:

LBL "T"

and that the module is not a key pad takeover module, that is it automatically assigns the keys when plugged in which case follow damaltors' advice, select USER mode by toggling the USER key.

If it is not automatically assigned and not accessible in USER mode then it must be manually assigned as follows:

-shift (f key) ASN (alpha toggle) "T" (alpha toggle) shift (f key) 9. This assigns the routine "T" to the shifted location on the "9" key.

-Toggle USER switch to USER and see the annunciation "USER". This activates USER key assignment keyboard.

Now the routine will be accessible with the key press 'f 9' as long as you are in the USER mode.

Google HP 41 manual and you will find one.

Geoff
01-18-2016, 04:49 PM
in user mode, I'm not getting into the program when I hit "shift T" - it brings up FS? _ _
and when I enter "shift R" - I get SF _ _ _
I'll keep looking - thanks.