svn2github's WP34S SVN mirror on GitHub
01-18-2016, 03:21 AM
svn2github's WP34S SVN mirror on GitHub
Hello.

https://github.com/svn2github/wp34s

The mirror is there. I requested it.

GitHub is easier and more people look at it. SourceForge is cumbersome and a lot less popular.

Would you consider switch to GitHub or that's an issue to development?

Kind regards.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2016, 07:45 AM
RE: svn2github's WP34S SVN mirror on GitHub
(01-18-2016 03:21 AM)timofonic Wrote:  GitHub is easier [...]

I disagree with this. In any case, I'm not a developer so I do not decide here.
01-18-2016, 10:18 AM
I don't see much point in relocating the 34S project at the moment -- we're in support mode now rather than active development.

For any new project, it would make sense to reconsider where it was hosted.

- Pauli
01-20-2016, 11:15 AM
(01-18-2016 07:45 AM)emece67 Wrote:  
(01-18-2016 03:21 AM)timofonic Wrote:  GitHub is easier [...]

I disagree with this. In any case, I'm not a developer so I do not decide here.

I agree you can disagree. But I disagree about not providing explanations, please be more constructive Wink

(01-18-2016 10:18 AM)Paul Dale Wrote:  I don't see much point in relocating the 34S project at the moment -- we're in support mode now rather than active development.

For any new project, it would make sense to reconsider where it was hosted.

- Pauli

Okay, that's a good point! Anyway, I like to see the stuff over GitHub. It's trendy and probably will go over after certain time, but lots projects found more visibility over there than any other FOSS hosting service.

The mirroring is automatic, don't worry about it. It's just another location where people can see the code, this has been done before (some geekies mirror their repositories locally too) Smile

Another point is that SourceForge company did and still do quite morally and legally wrong practices.