Post Reply 
How to display terminal on virtual calculator
12-13-2015, 12:08 AM
Post: #1
How to display terminal on virtual calculator
I know that to display the terminal on the HP Prime is ON+T; but how do you display the terminal using the virtual calculator and the connectivity kit? Once my program ends, I would like to go back and view what was printed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 05:28 AM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2015 01:51 PM by DrD.)
Post: #2
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
[HOME] Try entering from command line:
PRINT("")

Side effect: Adds CRLF. However it does get to the Terminal screen from the emulator. You could also include CHAR's in lieu of an empty string. Future print output will be offset, accordingly.

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 08:10 AM
Post: #3
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Thanks Dale. Tried it. The PRINT("") is being interpreted the same as a PRINT() and simply clears the terminal.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 04:18 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2015 04:19 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #4
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Try a print of a space PRINT(" "). Nothing else to do at the moment in the emulator.

Side note, anyone have any good ideas regarding a UI or way to handle special key presses like this? At one point doing a middle click would press and hold keys down, but it was a bit to easy to do on accident and wouldn't work for anything but desktop systems. I've thought about maybe a "special key" menu that would have them listed out in a drop down (similar to what you get in some virtual machines programs), but that doesn't seem very convenient.

Anyone have any comments or ideas?

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 05:28 PM
Post: #5
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
(12-13-2015 04:18 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Anyone have any comments or ideas?

A long press / right click / double tap or whatever on the respective key (T), perhaps? On a keyboard, ctrl+T or Win+T might be convenient. If this where a menu option the shortcut could be part of the menu text.

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-14-2015, 09:39 AM
Post: #6
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
(12-13-2015 04:18 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Anyone have any comments or ideas?
Maybe pressing the <Shift>-key (on the PC) while clicking at [ON] could 'lock' this [ON] until the next emulator key is clicked?

Franz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2015, 05:36 AM
Post: #7
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
I like Franz's idea. His idea would allow the Shift-ON to turn orange to indicate selected and upon receipt of the next key press, ON+<key> sequence pair could be sent to the emulator. The ON key would then return to the white color.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2018, 10:03 PM
Post: #8
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
(12-13-2015 12:08 AM)daryl178 Wrote:  I know that to display the terminal on the HP Prime is ON+T; but how do you display the terminal using the virtual calculator and the connectivity kit? Once my program ends, I would like to go back and view what was printed.

Better late than never:

If you mouse click to press the VC [On] key, (holding it pressed), while typing a '/' (divide, or forward slash) character, the terminal screen will appear!

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-12-2018, 06:23 AM
Post: #9
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Thanks DrD. Yes, a tad late; but still valuable and complete.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-12-2018, 07:01 AM
Post: #10
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Wow, another finger cruncher, at least on a German keyboard, the / is in the middle of the top row, I must use the little and the index finger of my left hand to reach them as my right hand is occupied holding down the mouse.
Arno
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2018, 01:52 AM
Post: #11
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Some of these combinations would be difficult on a tablet computer. Not sure how long presses are handled on them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2018, 10:21 PM
Post: #12
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
(12-13-2015 04:18 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  ...
Anyone have any comments or ideas?

Mouse: [Right-click and hold] on first key, upon visual confirmation, slide to second key and release.

Tablet: [double-tap and hold] on first key, upon visual confirmation, slide to second key and lift finger. Without visual confirmation: just interpret as a double entry. However, most tablets can handle multiple touch points so this suggestion could be implemented as a secondary method.

More than two keys? I don't know.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-14-2018, 01:40 PM
Post: #13
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Xcas has a command that starts the terminal view DispG, please include this command, too is very important that the terminal view keeps the impressions, because some commands print outgoing messages and delete the terminal view history.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-14-2018, 02:23 PM
Post: #14
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
Hello,
What is the difference between PRINT() in the Prime and DispG in Xcas?
Thanks

Giancarlo
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-14-2018, 02:49 PM
Post: #15
RE: How to display terminal on virtual calculator
the difference that PRINT() deletes the terminal view, loss of previous information =(

try the following scripts

Xcas
PHP Code:
DispGprintf(x^2); DispHomeDispG

HP-Prime
PHP Code:
PRINT();print(x^2);PRINT() ; 

we also need a command with printing with format, printf cmd of Xcas

I still can not execute the following code in the hp-prime = (, it will be required command management of auto-simplified flags and readable printing type of math book and not linear expressions

PHP Code:
sol_sys():={
local y,x,list0,expr0,lsolx,y1,y2,sols,test1;
purge(x,y);
autosimplify(nop); autosimplify();
approx_mode(0); approx_mode();
DispGClrIOprintf("Solving a system of two equations"); printf("Solve the following system:
"
);
list0 := [ x^22*]; printf(list0);
printf("substitute y = x² in y = 2x + 3:");
expr0 := subst(list0(2),list0(1)); printf(expr0);
printf("substract 2x + 3:");
expr0 := expr0-(2*3); printf(expr0);
printf("simplify:");
expr0 := simplify(expr0); printf(expr0);
printf("factor:");
expr0 := factor(expr0); printf(expr0);
printf("zero factor theorem:");
lsolx := [ part(left(expr0),1)=0part(left(expr0),2)=]; printf(lsolx);
printf("First factor plus 3, second minus 1:");
lsolx := [lsolx(1)+3lsolx(2)-]; printf(eval(lsolx,1));
printf("simplify"); printf("x values:");
lsolx := simplify(lsolx); printf(lsolx);
printf("y values:"); printf("Replace x values in the system, firts equation");
y1 := subst(list0(1),lsolx(1)); printf(y1);
printf("Replace x values in the system, second equation");
y2 := subst(list0(1),lsolx(2)); printf(y2);
printf("Solutions shaped as a array");
sols:=[[lsolx(1),y1],[lsolx(2),y2]]; printf(sols);
printf("Checking results:"); printf("Replace x and y values in the system, firts equation");
test1 := subst(list0(1),[sols(1,1),sols(1,2)]); printf(test1);
printf("Evaluate:");
test1 := evalb(test1); printf(test1);
printf("Replace x and y values in the system, second equation");
test1 := subst(list0(1),[sols(2,1),sols(2,2)]); printf(test1);
printf("Evaluate:");
test1 := evalb(test1); printf(test1);
sols := solve([ x^22*],[x,y]); printf("Solutions:"); printf(sols);
printf("Solutions shaped as a boolean expression:");
sols := list2exp(sols,[x,y]); printf(eval(sols,1));
printf("Graphing");
plot([x^2,2*x+3],x);
return(
"Done");
}:; 
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)