RealCalc by Quartic Software UK
01-21-2015, 04:24 AM (This post was last modified: 01-21-2015 04:29 AM by MarkHaysHarris777.)
RealCalc by Quartic Software UK
Greetings,

I have been contemplating the inevitable demise of the dedicated hand-held calculator, particularly the beloved HP RPN non graphing variety. (My experience with the hand-held calcs goes back to the original HP35 and the original HP45 gold-key units which followed. I also own several Sharps and all of the TI advanced calcs. My most recent purchases for the collection are the FX115es Plus, TI 36x Pro, and the HP35s programable). Needless to say I'm a maths geek, a tech nerd... and I'm also a software engineer. I studied electrical engineering back in the 70's, and I'm an amateur radio operator W0MHH. May I say, I love my calculator collection and the idea of the dedicated hand-held units. Having said that, I am convinced that the age of the hand-held calculator (as such) is coming to an end... much like the slide rule before it (my slide rule is a Picket Dual-Base LogLog; my high school class '74 was the last class to teach the slide rule, and I used mine only briefly in college). sorry, I digressed there a bit...

The RPN calculator I carry with me and use on a daily basis is NOT a dedicated hand-held calc from my collection. I have been using an RPN calculator which may be configured to look and feel like an HP clone ( I have my x,y,z,t stack configured to show three lines, without buffer ), is a fully functional scientific calculator, and runs on my Android Samsung phone-- RealCalc from Quartic Software, UK.