Strangely behaving 16c
11-19-2015, 07:59 PM
Strangely behaving 16c
Howdy all. I just picked a 16c up off of ebay. The problem is that it does not behave as I would expect. For example any multiplication seems to have the last 4 bits masked off of the result. So 15 3 * produces 32 instead of 45. Every product have tried has had this same peculiar defect.

I have tried a reset with [-] + [on] as well as shorting the battery terminals but the issue persists. I am new to the 16c so I suppose there could be some masking mode that is turned on, but a skim of the manual has provided no clues.

Another issue is that I cant seem to run programs. even when entered from the manual keystroke for keystroke I just get a error 4 every time.

A couple of things concern me about this purchase. One, the unit is in shockingly good physical condition. Two, the keys feel slightly mushier than I would have expected especially the enter key. The other keys are close enough to the hp keys I am used to (hp 48) that I would be satisfied, but the enter key feels awful. Very stiff with no real snap to it. Are counterfeit voyagers a thing? Other than those two concerns and the odd behavior everything looks legit to my admittedly untrained eye.

Any help would be appreciated
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-19-2015, 08:48 PM
RE: Strangely behaving 16c
Welcome to this forum.

You didn't mention it, but a self test check would make sense in this case.
Details here on the notes at the end of the page and here.

http://www.hpmuseum.org/features/16cf.htm

Jose Mesquita
RadioMuseum.org member

11-19-2015, 08:53 PM
Yes, I did forget to mention it. The self check passed with no complaints and ended with all segments active.
11-19-2015, 09:08 PM
What about the keyboard test (using the divide key) ?
A stuck key could create all sort of issues.

Jose Mesquita
RadioMuseum.org member

11-19-2015, 09:11 PM