[WP34s] Help Flashing!
11-02-2015, 07:13 PM (This post was last modified: 11-02-2015 08:49 PM by jayemel.)
[WP34s] Help Flashing!
Hi,

I've only recently discovered the WP34s project and am trying to build one for myself. I own a number of HP machines (35, 21, 42s and 48GX) and am excited to add a WP34s to the family!

I'm an electronic engineer, so pretty familiar with the practical side of flashing a 30b into WP34s, but I seem to be stuck.

I have succeeded in erasing the stock firmware, but can't get it to program. I've tried a variety of USB to UART adapters (FTDI, Prolific and others), operating systems (Windows 10 and Ubuntu 15.04) and flashing applications (SAM-BA, MySamBa and wp34sFlash) and get the same result with all of them, that the programmer cannot connect.

I don't have a proper cable, so am holding wires firmly onto the relevant pads.

I'm powering the calculator from a lab power supply (at 3.2v) and I can see from the output current when the calculator is on and off, so the problem isn't battery related.

I have looked at the serial lines on an oscilloscpe, the computer is successfully sending three bytes with a few seconds gap between them, but the calculator never responds.

I've followed the instructions to a tee, and extensively combed the forums and tried everything that I can, but am getting nowhere.

Any ideas?
-- Josh
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-02-2015, 11:04 PM
RE: [WP34s] Help Flashing!
Many have reported that the software environment is pretty critical for a successful
flashing operation. The flashing occurs at 115200 baud, so the timing is more troublesome than the program/data transfer between the emulator and the calculator which takes place at 9600 baud.

Many have reported that linux/wine programming and Mac programming are unsuccessful. The most successful combination is Windows 7 with MySamba.exe

I have not heard any reports of how successful MySamba is under Windows 10.