Cubic and Quartic Formulae
08-06-2015, 05:35 AM
Cubic and Quartic Formulae
Hello everyone,

I am just wondering if anyone has a program / application to find the exact roots of cubic and quartic polynomials.

I'm well aware that the calculator can solve them, but they provide decimal, approximate answers.

These formulae have been known since the 1500s. I wish the HP Prime and TI calculators provided exact solutions.

Only linear (trivial) and quadratic equations provide exact answers for all values of a, b, c.

Cubic formula:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cubic_func..._for_roots

Quartic formula:
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c...ormula.svg

I'm a math teacher and I would like to show my students exact answers of these polynomials rather than just decimal approximations.

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2015, 05:42 AM
RE: Cubic and Quartic Formulae
Quite clearly you can see what I mean when I type: solve(x^3+x+1=0,x)
You receive a decimal value approximately -0.68...

However, there is obviously an exact solution given that it is a cubic polynomial.
You can find this on wolfram alpha at: http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=sol...3D0%2Cx%29

I never understood why calculators with this capability gave approximate answers as opposed to exact.

I mean when computing (-1)^(1/3), you get the principal complex root as opposed to -1. I'm sure the ability is there to put this feature in. Maple does it flawlessly.
08-06-2015, 09:01 AM
There are a few reasons. Check again the closed-form solutions. You want 3 or 4 several line expressions with nested radicals as answers on a calculator screen. That's not very useful, besides it would only look nice (not really) for integer or rational coefficients. That's the same reason why closed form eigenvalues are either trivial or you don't really want to see them.