Post Reply 
HP-35 Question
07-22-2015, 07:37 PM
Post: #1
HP-35 Question
Hello,
I have an HP-35 which by looking at the great info here and the serial number is clearly a 1302A model. However the case only says “Hewlett Packard” without the “35” after it. Would this be a “transitional” build? By that I mean they used the new series’ insides but built it with a leftover case from the previous series. Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2015, 11:53 PM (This post was last modified: 07-22-2015 11:56 PM by Didier Lachieze.)
Post: #2
RE: HP-35 Question
Hello, the move from the "Hewlett-Packard" to the "Hewlett-Packard 35" front label occurred after the introduction of the HP-80 whose early units have also the "Hewlett-Packard" front label. Looking at the introduction date of the HP-80 this means that the early 1302A units have the "Hewlett-Packard" front label.
Is your serial number below 35000?

Note that the driving factor to move from the 1249A to the 1302A serie was the ROM change to fix the 2.02 Ln e^x bug.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2015, 11:55 PM
Post: #3
RE: HP-35 Question
I asked Scott Reynolds of vintagecalculatorsinc a similar question not long ago. Here's his response:

HP made a bunch of HP-35 calcs in production run 1302A. By the time they got to this 3rd run, they were mixing and matching front labels, serials and back casings. The label missing the 35 making it a version 2 is more of a guideline than a rule on a version 2 or 3. I have seen transitional models that have every single Red dot (V1) 1143A characteristic except the hole for the red dot. On Michael's site, you will see V2 calcs that have lower serials than the Last known Red dot. I have several "V2" 35 (s) that have numbers higher than the V4 I have listed. That is why you see unopened 35(s) with the ROM bug on 2nd production run with high serials.
Bottom line is a V2 with a serial starting with 1302A is unusual, but I have one in my hand right now. I have never seen a V4 with a serial not starting with 1302A.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-23-2015, 12:09 AM
Post: #4
RE: HP-35 Question
(07-22-2015 11:55 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  I have never seen a V4 with a serial not starting with 1302A.
Do you have one ? On my side I've never seen a V4 with a serial number not starting with 1346A.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-23-2015, 12:19 AM
Post: #5
RE: HP-35 Question
(07-23-2015 12:09 AM)Didier Lachieze Wrote:  
(07-22-2015 11:55 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  I have never seen a V4 with a serial not starting with 1302A.
Do you have one ? On my side I've never seen a V4 with a serial number not starting with 1346A.

No, mine's an earlier version.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-23-2015, 06:47 AM
Post: #6
RE: HP-35 Question
(07-23-2015 12:09 AM)Didier Lachieze Wrote:  
(07-22-2015 11:55 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  I have never seen a V4 with a serial not starting with 1302A.
Do you have one ? On my side I've never seen a V4 with a serial number not starting with 1346A.

Ditto

Greetings,
    Massimo

-+×÷ ↔ left is right and right is wrong
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2015, 06:49 PM
Post: #7
RE: HP-35 Question
Thanks very much. As I suspected but more info than I expected. Thanks again and this was fascinating. And yes my serial number is in the 27,000 range if I remember correctly (not nearby right now).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: