Post Reply 
See all decimals
07-21-2015, 12:00 PM
Post: #1
See all decimals
Hello all,

is there a way on the Prime to display all the decimals when the machine is for example in sci mode?
Something like the "orange show" on the HP35s or the "f PREFIX" on the HP11c?

I looked for it on the user guide but I did not find it.

Thank you very much for the help

Reto
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 12:50 PM
Post: #2
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 12:00 PM)retoa Wrote:  Hello all,
is there a way on the Prime to display all the decimals when the machine is for example in sci mode?
Something like the "orange show" on the HP35s or the "f PREFIX" on the HP11c?
I looked for it on the user guide but I did not find it.
Thank you very much for the help
Reto

I thought the same thing yesterday: it would be useful something like f+number in HP 12C...
For example, I've PI/100, I can read 3.14159265359E-2 and I would like to see for a moment 0.00314... with all or a number of decimals; or having a rounded value, switch to and from all decimals...

Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU), HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 12C 15C - DM42 WP34s :: Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 01:08 PM
Post: #3
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 12:00 PM)retoa Wrote:  Hello all,

is there a way on the Prime to display all the decimals when the machine is for example in sci mode?
Something like the "orange show" on the HP35s or the "f PREFIX" on the HP11c?

I looked for it on the user guide but I did not find it.

Thank you very much for the help

Reto

Reto,

There is a program in the Prime software library written by Joe Horn:

http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-3571.html

DGM
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 03:52 PM
Post: #4
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 01:08 PM)DGM Wrote:  
(07-21-2015 12:00 PM)retoa Wrote:  Hello all,

is there a way on the Prime to display all the decimals when the machine is for example in sci mode?
Something like the "orange show" on the HP35s or the "f PREFIX" on the HP11c?

I looked for it on the user guide but I did not find it.

Thank you very much for the help

Reto

Reto,

There is a program in the Prime software library written by Joe Horn:

http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-3571.html

DGM

Thank you DGM,
Joe's program is nice, but it's not really what I was looking for. I only want to see directly the decimals of the last result for a while (or in a new line), without having to call a program passing ANS as parameter. This feature would be more useful in HOME, where you do numerical calculations, than in CAS.
If there is no other

Kind regards

Reto
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 03:57 PM
Post: #5
RE: See all decimals
what about Home/Settings, Number Format: Floating?
Arno
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 04:00 PM
Post: #6
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 03:57 PM)Arno K Wrote:  what about Home/Settings, Number Format: Floating?
Arno

indirect, but better than nothing ;-)
we need a shortcut for this...

Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU), HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 12C 15C - DM42 WP34s :: Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 04:24 PM
Post: #7
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 03:57 PM)Arno K Wrote:  what about Home/Settings, Number Format: Floating?
Arno

Hello Arno,
this will change the notation of all numbers on the display, so you have to change it to see the decimals and then change it back.
On the others HP models there was always a way to see the decimals without having to change the display mode. As an example on the HP35s if you set display sci 3 and calculate 1/7 you find 1.429E-1. Now if you hold SHOW you will see 142857142857, if you only press it without holding, the decimals appear for about 2 seconds, the display mode will not be changed. On the HP 11c you get the same thing with "f-PREFIX".

Is there something so smart on the Prime?

Thank you to all

Reto
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 05:12 PM
Post: #8
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 04:24 PM)retoa Wrote:  
(07-21-2015 03:57 PM)Arno K Wrote:  what about Home/Settings, Number Format: Floating?
Arno

Hello Arno,
this will change the notation of all numbers on the display, so you have to change it to see the decimals and then change it back.
On the others HP models there was always a way to see the decimals without having to change the display mode. As an example on the HP35s if you set display sci 3 and calculate 1/7 you find 1.429E-1. Now if you hold SHOW you will see 142857142857, if you only press it without holding, the decimals appear for about 2 seconds, the display mode will not be changed. On the HP 11c you get the same thing with "f-PREFIX".

Is there something so smart on the Prime?

Thank you to all

Reto

Sorry, I think that there is nothing similar on the Prime, at least not without using some extra program.
Arno
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 05:20 PM
Post: #9
RE: See all decimals
I don't think this has ever been a built in feature on any HP grapher. I might be wrong on that though. The basic issue boils down to "there are more types of objects then just since numbers" and it kind of falls apart with that.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 09:44 PM (This post was last modified: 07-21-2015 09:46 PM by retoa.)
Post: #10
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 05:20 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  I don't think this has ever been a built in feature on any HP grapher. I might be wrong on that though. The basic issue boils down to "there are more types of objects then just since numbers" and it kind of falls apart with that.

Hello Tim

On the HP 48 SX it was "VIEW" in the stack menu, you came back with "ON". The 48 GX should have something similar, I don't remember exactly. I do not know the 50g, only played a bit with it on an emulator.

The stack menu of the Prime (arrow up) has a Show function, but it is quiet useless, it shows you exactly what you already see on the display, same font so it is not for people who do not see very good. Really can't understand what it is for...

Kind regards

Reto
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2015, 10:03 PM
Post: #11
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 09:44 PM)retoa Wrote:  The stack menu of the Prime (arrow up) has a Show function, but it is quiet useless, it shows you exactly what you already see on the display, same font so it is not for people who do not see very good. Really can't understand what it is for...

Well, I stand corrected. I do think the OP was wanting a "click a button sequence and the display changes to display all digits" type of thing - at least that is how I interpreted it.

Anyway, you are right about the VIEW thing. It would toggle between a 2d display, and a text display which would also show more digits.

Currently, the show button on prime is really only useful when you have larger things. You get it in a window and can scroll around to see off screen items. Since the display is so big/detailed compared with older units I agree it isn't normally all that useful.

However, your comments made me think a bit more about some nice things that could be done in there (toggle some different display options, text/2d, different base representations, etc)...

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2015, 09:17 AM
Post: #12
RE: See all decimals
(07-21-2015 12:00 PM)retoa Wrote:  is there a way on the Prime to display all the decimals when the machine is for example in sci mode?
Something like the "orange show" on the HP35s or the "f PREFIX" on the HP11c?

I looked for it on the user guide but I did not find it.

Yes: Two keystrokes: up-cursor, Enter. This echoes the number to the edit line with all its digits showing. Press On to discard the edit line.

<0|ɸ|0>
-Joe-
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2015, 09:50 AM
Post: #13
RE: See all decimals
On 50G try down cursor or up cursor & VIEW from the soft menu.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2015, 12:10 PM
Post: #14
RE: See all decimals
Thank you very much Joe, this is exactly what I was looking for. It also works with the "Copy" soft key. I tried the "Show" but not the "Copy"...

Many thanks also to Tim and the others who replied !!

Reto
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2015, 08:02 AM
Post: #15
RE: See all decimals
Hello,

Have you thought about creating a user key program that would do what you want?

Cyrille
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2015, 10:43 AM
Post: #16
RE: See all decimals
(07-27-2015 08:02 AM)cyrille de brébisson Wrote:  Hello,
Have you thought about creating a user key program that would do what you want?
Cyrille

hi Cyrille,
any idea to create a user key to toggle between ENG and decimal format?
I mean: I've 3.141592E-4, I would switch to an from 0.0003141592 with a more simple way from "shift - Home settings - number format: Floating (or Standard)...
Like the "f" function in HP 12C...

Thanks!

Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU), HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 12C 15C - DM42 WP34s :: Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2015, 11:28 AM (This post was last modified: 07-27-2015 11:29 AM by roadrunner.)
Post: #17
RE: See all decimals
(07-27-2015 10:43 AM)salvomic Wrote:  any idea to create a user key to toggle between ENG and decimal format?

Hi Salvo,

Enter this into a program:

Code:

KEY K_1()
BEGIN
 if HFormat == 0 then
  HFormat:=3;
 else
  HFormat:=0;
 end;
 return "";
END;

Then hit Shift/Help/1

Road
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2015, 02:16 PM (This post was last modified: 07-27-2015 03:50 PM by salvomic.)
Post: #18
RE: See all decimals
(07-27-2015 11:28 AM)roadrunner Wrote:  Hi Salvo,
Enter this into a program:
...
Then hit Shift/Help/1

Road

thanks, Road!
this is what I was searching...

In my case, however, better so:
Code:
KEY K_1()
// use Shift Help 1
BEGIN
 if HFormat == 0 then
  HFormat:=4;
 else
  HFormat:=0;
 end;
 return "";
END;

Toggle between Standard and Floating format...

ciao Smile
Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU), HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 12C 15C - DM42 WP34s :: Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)