Post Reply 
New Version: 2015.06.17
06-24-2015, 11:34 AM
Post: #21
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
Strange enough, this is the second time I'm experiencing an utter slow connection to the HP server distributing the update. I have a 100 Mbit/s line, and the download runs at crawl speed, only 4 kByte/s (~ 30 kbit/s or 0,03 Mbit/s). Or are there gazillions of users out there downloading the update?

BTW, the connection to the remaining internet is at full speed. Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2015, 11:48 AM
Post: #22
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
Hi Tim,

what is the schedule for the Android app? Will it be updated soon?

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2015, 12:41 PM
Post: #23
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17 - Emulator CPU load
Hi Tim,

the virtual calculator seems to hog the CPU:

[Image: Virtual_Prime_CPU_Load_2.png]

[Image: Virtual_Prime_CPU_Load.png]

The emulator is just sitting idle.

After stopping the process everything is back to normal:

[Image: Virtual_Prime_CPU_Load_3.png]

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2015, 01:03 PM
Post: #24
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
Hello Marcus,

on my Win7 x64 the cpu consuption of the virtual prime is zero. There must be something wrong on your system.

regards

Wolfgang
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2015, 01:22 PM
Post: #25
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-24-2015 01:03 PM)ww63 Wrote:  on my Win7 x64 the cpu consuption of the virtual prime is zero. There must be something wrong on your system.

Maybe it's a problem with the interaction between the VM and the emulator. But it's still a problem HP has to attack.

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2015, 02:11 PM (This post was last modified: 06-24-2015 02:12 PM by Thomas_Sch.)
Post: #26
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-24-2015 11:34 AM)rkf Wrote:  Strange enough, this is the second time I'm experiencing an utter slow connection to the HP server distributing the update. I have a 100 Mbit/s line, and the download runs at crawl speed, only 4 kByte/s (~ 30 kbit/s or 0,03 Mbit/s). Or are there gazillions of users out there downloading the update?

BTW, the connection to the remaining internet is at full speed. Smile

Are you connected via WLAN?
I had the same issue via WLAN/WiFi and a AVM FritzBox DSL Router.
Could you try using LAN?
In my case AVM checked this and made a special firmware.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-2015, 06:37 AM
Post: #27
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-24-2015 02:11 PM)Thomas_Sch Wrote:  
(06-24-2015 11:34 AM)rkf Wrote:  Strange enough, this is the second time I'm experiencing an utter slow connection to the HP server distributing the update. ...

Are you connected via WLAN?
I had the same issue via WLAN/WiFi and a AVM FritzBox DSL Router.
Could you try using LAN?
In my case AVM checked this and made a special firmware.

Yes, indeed, I have precisely those conditions. I will try next time the update via LAN.

Thanks for your comment, I never had considered this for myself!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-2015, 08:58 PM
Post: #28
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-24-2015 12:41 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  the virtual calculator seems to hog the CPU:

I just tried with the previous version of the emulator on a different (still virtual) Windows 7 install: The effect is the same, the CPU is 100% busy.

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-2015, 09:49 PM (This post was last modified: 06-25-2015 10:35 PM by Cristóbal De Jesús.)
Post: #29
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
Hi, thanks for the updates.

I had reported a previously available feature of the HP Prime Virtual as being missing in the last update. Before the April update, and after the June one, the ability to invoke the context menu by long-touching on a touch-enabled screen was lost. I was able to long-touch in any 'dead' area of the emulated calculator, away from buttons and the screen, and get the menu. It's quite convenient to have that capability. Right-clicking with a mouse wasn't affected. On small Windows tablets, space is scarce. Now I have to permanently display the window frame to access its' menu.

A minor issue? Sure it is. I hope you find time to add this feature. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2015, 12:55 AM
Post: #30
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-23-2015 04:54 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Hello,

New versions should be up on the FTP now. Connectivity kit check for update will find them. If your network blocks direct connection, the direct link can be found at "ftp.hp.com/pub/calculators/Prime/".

The upgrade went smoothly (Niawen:kowa/Thank you very much!) but here are issues I'd like addressed:

1. There's still no printing from the CK. :^(
2. No fix for the distance sensor connection to the SmartStream either. :^((
3. The documentation is now TWO versions behind! :^(((

Tom L

Tom L
Cui bono?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2015, 03:01 PM
Post: #31
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-25-2015 08:58 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  I just tried with the previous version of the emulator on a different (still virtual) Windows 7 install: The effect is the same, the CPU is 100% busy.

After a while, the cpu load fell to nearly 0%. I didn't do anything special. Some more testing required...

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2015, 03:53 PM
Post: #32
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-26-2015 03:01 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  After a while, the cpu load fell to nearly 0%. I didn't do anything special. Some more testing required...

I've seen this happen in my development vm, but nobody else has ever reported this...

Would be interested if you spotted something causing it.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-27-2015, 07:24 PM
Post: #33
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-26-2015 03:53 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  
(06-26-2015 03:01 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  After a while, the cpu load fell to nearly 0%. I didn't do anything special. Some more testing required...

I've seen this happen in my development vm, but nobody else has ever reported this...

Would be interested if you spotted something causing it.

also by me some problems with memory: today I was working on a program, and editing it more times I got an "insufficient memory" message.
Yesterday the memory info went from 8 MB to 2 MB in few minutes...

Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU) :: HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 39s 35s 12C 15C - DM42, DM41X - WP34s Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2015, 10:32 AM
Post: #34
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-26-2015 03:01 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  
(06-25-2015 08:58 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  I just tried with the previous version of the emulator on a different (still virtual) Windows 7 install: The effect is the same, the CPU is 100% busy.

After a while, the cpu load fell to nearly 0%. I didn't do anything special. Some more testing required...

It happens the some with me...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2015, 06:15 PM
Post: #35
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
For some reason, the Connectivity Kit crashes upon:
1. Opening the application with the emulator open.
2. Clicking programs.

I am not able to do anything with it afterwords. Re-downloading the kit doesn't solve the problem.

I am operating Windows 8.1 on a laptop, if it helps.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2015, 06:55 PM
Post: #36
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(07-19-2015 06:15 PM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  For some reason, the Connectivity Kit crashes upon:
1. Opening the application with the emulator open.
2. Clicking programs.

I am not able to do anything with it afterwords. Re-downloading the kit doesn't solve the problem.

I am operating Windows 8.1 on a laptop, if it helps.

Must be an issue with Windows 8. I am using Windows 7 64-bit and I don't have
the problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2015, 09:38 PM
Post: #37
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
In "Home" mode:
approx(e^(i*π))=-1. Simply (e^(i*π))=-1-2.06761537357E-13*i (as Prime calculates), and approx(-1-2.06761537357E-13*i)=-1-2.06761537357E-13*i. Interesting logic.
√(-1-i) gives different answers in Home and CAS as it was mentioned.
I consider that it isn't obligatory to correct such trifles. It isn't difficult to work with them.
But curious to know why the emulator has the unsharp image (ver8151 on win7)? Or it only at the free version? It isn't awful too.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2015, 11:53 PM (This post was last modified: 07-19-2015 11:53 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #38
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(07-19-2015 09:38 PM)Hlib Wrote:  But curious to know why the emulator has the unsharp image (ver8151 on win7)?

Not sure exactly what you are referring to here. Which part/image do you mean? By chance are you on a high dpi screen?

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-20-2015, 05:21 PM
Post: #39
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(07-19-2015 11:53 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  ...Not sure exactly what you are referring to here. Which part/image do you mean?...

Tim, I meant the image of "Large Prime" skin. Look at figures [19:11] on screen top. IMO, why not to make all keyboard, inscriptions and LCD same accurate?

[Image: 2dfed5b5d2f9.jpg] [Image: 2dfed5b5d2f9t.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-20-2015, 06:34 PM
Post: #40
RE: New Version: 2015.06.17
(06-23-2015 04:54 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  1. Removed ability to install on Windows XP as it is no longer supported

On the "pro" side, this mean I can finally ditch my virtual XP-installation, since the HP Connectivity Kit is the last PC application I actually use and can't port to my Mac.

On the "con" side, this means I've lost all reliable means to transfer files or upgrade my
Prime. (The libhpcalcs tool, while wonderful, does not really cut the mustard.)

I guess I can continue to use the previous version to upgrade the Prime, but I'm missing out on new features in the Kit.

Please, please, please, give us a native Connectivity Kit for the Mac.

/Lennart Börjeson
Stockholm, Sweden
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)