fsolve question
06-15-2015, 12:34 PM
fsolve question
Hello,

I’m new to PPL and have a question about fsolve. I’m trying to run this function:

export tdew2()
begin
HAngle:=0;
local x, y;
y:=fsolve(cos(x)=.5,x);
return y;
END;

When I do, I get this error message:

"fsolve(((cos(0))==0.5),0) Error: Bad Argument Value"

I can run: fsolve(cos(x)=.5,x) directly from the input line and get the correct answer. I get the same results on the emulator and the calculator, and in CAS and HOME mode. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Paul
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-15-2015, 01:19 PM
RE: fsolve question
Hello again,

I just solved my own problem. This works:

export tdew2()
begin
local w, x, y, z;
z:="fsolve(cos(x)=0.5,x)";
y:=CAS(z);
return y;
END;

Next time I'll investigate further before asking.
06-15-2015, 01:32 PM
Another way:

Code:

export tdew2()
BEGIN
  local x, y;
  y:=CAS("fsolve(cos(x)=.5,x");
  return y;
END;
06-19-2015, 10:09 AM
Why do you guys put the solve command inside a program? Is there a benefit? Since there is no variable input nor further processing I would do the fsolve() command in cas directly?
I'm curious to learn why you add numerous programs for pure cas calculations?

Thanks!
06-19-2015, 10:18 AM
The original poster said that he was new to PPL and wanted to learn about it. So this could be a snippet as part of a larger context; or perhaps for similar reasoning that one climbs mountains.

-Dale-
06-19-2015, 11:37 AM
Quote:Why do you guys put CAS commands inside a program? Is there a benefit?

Let's say you were pondering the ways of the world, and while admiring the beauty of the Prime's keyboard, you just happen to code in a CSP2D optimization program. Knowing that you will need some test data, (in HOME view), you simply key in the command line:

M1:=CAS("randMat(N,3,ip(1..10))");