Portable Plus - Additional RAM
03-16-2015, 12:07 AM
Portable Plus - Additional RAM
A question for the Portable Plus experts: ( Hi Dave? )

I would like to have more RAM than 1.5 Mbyte in my machine ( 512kB internally and 1 MB RAM drawer ).
How could I achieve that? Can the RAM drawer be upgraded to 2 MB?
If there is a way, can anybody provide a link to a documentation of the procedure?
( Certainly I lack the skills to accomplish that by myself, but I hope to find someone who could do that ).
Thanks in advance!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2015, 01:18 AM (This post was last modified: 03-16-2015 01:37 AM by Dave Frederickson.)
RE: Portable Plus - Additional RAM
I'm not an expert, but I recall reading about having 4.5MB in a Portable PLUS. I found an ad in The Portable Paper, V3N3, p26.

You can also install a 1MB drawer in both locations, but you lose your ROM's doing this. It might be possible to replace the chips in a 1MB drawer. Martin was looking into memory upgrades last Fall. Maybe he can provide an update.

Dave
03-16-2015, 04:27 PM
(03-16-2015 01:18 AM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  ...
Martin was looking into memory upgrades last Fall. Maybe he can provide an update.

Dave

Well, I read the accompanying article in the Portable Paper and understand basically how it can be done on the Portable. But this would require quite some soldering work.
For the Portable Plus there were 3rd party RAM extensions e.g. sold via H. Goldstein's company. I think they went to up to 4.5 MB which (today) is still a small amount for a RAM disc. One could probably design a new large capacity drawer with today's technology, and talk to it via an MS-DOS block device driver. However this is a relatively large and very specific project.