HP-39GII: Will it become a desired collectible?
01-12-2015, 10:29 PM
RE: HP-39GII: Will it become a desired collectible?
(01-12-2015 10:07 PM)jebem Wrote:  
(01-12-2015 09:24 PM)Hlib Wrote:  My HP-39GII yesterday finally died after a warranty term.

Hello and welcome to our MoHPC forum.

May I ask you:
What happened to the calculator?
It doesn't power ON anymore?
Or is it other problem?

Thanks.

The problems enumerated by you I studied a long ago, on many shallow things I left off to pay attention out of regard for HP. I will write about it later.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2015, 10:59 AM
So, to summarize my findings so far:

1. This HP-39GII is not a model that most of our fellow collectors will cherish, due to a number of different reasons:
1.1 It is not RPN;
1.2. It is oriented to education only;
1.3. The colors are not attractive to many;
1.4. It is too new to be a collectible that can be discussed here;
1.5. It can't be re-purposed due to insufficient information, high sdk costs and SoC obsolescence.
1.6. Other reasons?

2. Some people report a number of issues related to firmware bugs, that were never fixed.

3. Other people report issues when trying to update the firmware using the existing HP tools.

4. So far, I couldn't find reports on failing hardware.

For alll of the above, I'm very happy to have acquired my HP-39GII, still new in the box.
I guess it will stay sealed in the blister for the next years to come.
20 years from now we will talk again on this subject Smile

Jose Mesquita
RadioMuseum.org member

01-14-2015, 02:19 PM
(01-12-2015 09:24 PM)Hlib Wrote:  It is first necessary to rememder about deception of the real RAM size and inaccessible 80MB of flash (as be said in an advertisements).

Not sure I understand what "deception" you are talking about. If I am remembering correctly after all this time, there was 256KB of RAM, and 128MB of flash in the 39gII.