Post Reply 
Error When Checking for an Update
12-15-2014, 01:25 PM
Post: #1
Error When Checking for an Update
Has anyone ever experienced this type of error message when trying to update?

"Could not connect to the update server (http://ftp.hp.com) Please check your internet connection"
"Click the Check Online Button Below To Manually Check For an Update in a Web Browser"

I have internet connectivity - I don't know what else to check for - any suggestions.

Thanks,
Nick
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 01:42 PM
Post: #2
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-15-2014 01:25 PM)NMihiylov Wrote:  Has anyone ever experienced this type of error message when trying to update?

"Could not connect to the update server (http://ftp.hp.com) Please check your internet connection"
"Click the Check Online Button Below To Manually Check For an Update in a Web Browser"

I have internet connectivity - I don't know what else to check for - any suggestions.

Thanks,
Nick

Yes, you are not alone.

Sadly I've just given up. Perhaps the goblin causing this irritation will magically disappear in a few days?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 01:44 PM
Post: #3
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
Their server seems to be temporarily down for the last week. Hopefully it will be back up soon.

Bill
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 01:57 PM (This post was last modified: 12-15-2014 01:59 PM by Thomas_Sch.)
Post: #4
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
At the FTP Server the path "ends" at
Quote:http://ftp.ftp.hp.com/pub/calculators/
.
The usual subdirectory "prime" ist missing.
See also http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-253...l#pid22850
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 03:27 PM
Post: #5
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
Thank you all for the responses - partially glad that I wasn't the only one experiencing these problems - hopefully it will be back up soon.

Regards,

Nick
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 08:35 PM
Post: #6
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
We're all on the wait.

If anyone could upload the latest emulator and connectivity kit, though, that'd be great. I've recently formatted my computer and have been waiting for my vacations to start programming... when I finally got to it, the servers are gone. :/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 09:07 PM (This post was last modified: 12-15-2014 09:08 PM by Thomas_Sch.)
Post: #7
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-15-2014 08:35 PM)gabrieljcs Wrote:  If anyone could upload the latest emulator and connectivity kit, though, that'd be great.
- Latest firmware ("HP-Prime OS (build 6940)"): https://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=118947
- CK ("HP Connectivity Kit (v. 6940)"): https://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=118954
Unfortunately there is no emulator.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 09:09 PM
Post: #8
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-15-2014 09:07 PM)Thomas_Sch Wrote:  
(12-15-2014 08:35 PM)gabrieljcs Wrote:  If anyone could upload the latest emulator and connectivity kit, though, that'd be great.
- Latest firmware ("HP-Prime OS (build 6940)"): https://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=118947
- CK ("HP Connectivity Kit (v. 6940)"): https://tiplanet.org/forum/archives_voir.php?id=118954
Unfortunately there is no emulator.

I think Rev 6975 is newer.

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 10:03 PM
Post: #9
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-15-2014 08:35 PM)gabrieljcs Wrote:  We're all on the wait.

Back up now. Should detect it if you run a check for update.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 01:36 PM
Post: #10
RE: Error When Checking for an Update - AGAIN
OK, now I have been able to upload the update, however, after it has been uploaded I keep receiving the same error message "UNABLE TO START"

I tried this update on two computers both produced the same result.I even reinstalled the Connectivity Kit on one computer to see if that would cure this issue - no luck!

Does anyone have any suggestions or a solution on how to remedy this?

Thank You -

Nick
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 01:51 PM (This post was last modified: 12-17-2014 01:51 PM by ww63.)
Post: #11
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
Mine updates without problems when I did it on monday (12/15/2014) running Win7 x64.

Wich OS is on your computers?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 02:02 PM
Post: #12
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
Hi,

updates it's working.
First look, small bug in Connectivity Kit Window translation to portuguese where is ventana (spanish) must be janela portuguese of Portugal, sorry i don't know if it's the same in Portuguese of Brazil.

Cumprimentos
Best regards/Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Diamantino
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 02:51 PM
Post: #13
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-17-2014 02:02 PM)mop80087 Wrote:  First look, small bug

Looks like the translations got crossed somewhere during the process (happened for a few other langs too on that one). Thanks!

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 02:56 PM
Post: #14
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-17-2014 01:36 PM)NMihiylov Wrote:  OK, now I have been able to upload the update, however, after it has been uploaded I keep receiving the same error message "UNABLE TO START"

If I am remembering properly, you are seeing it count as it attempts to find the calculator. After a while, it gives up.

Do you see the calculator in "update" mode? This will be a large HP logo that stays on the screen. If the calculator never showed up in update mode, then it can't find it.

To manually put it in update mode, hold down the "SYMB" key while pressing the reset in the back with a paperclip. When it begins to boot, the unit will be in update mode.

Now connect to the PC with the USB cable. A virtual machine, simulator, etc is not officially supported. You should see some sort of "driver install" message or notification from windows. If you do not see this, please try connecting to other USB ports. For example, if you connected to the laptop port on the side, try one in the back.

Once you see that message, reopen the connectivity kit and it will detect it and ask if you'd like to update.

If this is not helpful, please provide more details on what you see so I can try to help.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 05:17 PM
Post: #15
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
This is happening when I am trying to get the update for the connectivity kit to run. The one computer is argh Windows XP, however, the other computer is running windows 7.

It appears that the update downloads correctly, just won't run to install.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 05:24 PM
Post: #16
RE: Error When Checking for an Update
(12-17-2014 05:17 PM)NMihiylov Wrote:  This is happening when I am trying to get the update for the connectivity kit to run. The one computer is argh Windows XP, however, the other computer is running windows 7.

It appears that the update downloads correctly, just won't run to install.

I had a similar effect on Win XP pro. Before the installer starts, a dialog appears and asks for a user name and if some kind of security check should be performed. I had to untick this checkbox to make the installer run.

On Windows 7 it might be a good idea to run the CK as an administrator for the purpose of upgrading.

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)