Post Reply 
New Version: 2014.1203
12-15-2014, 08:57 AM
Post: #61
RE: New Version: 2014.1124 [REMOVED]
Hello Tim,

thanks for your reply. So it should soon reapear.
But so far it is still missing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 09:59 PM (This post was last modified: 12-15-2014 10:00 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #62
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
I have updated the title of the original post. Basically, the x^2 issue caused us to pull the old one, fix, and reissue.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2014, 10:18 PM
Post: #63
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
(12-15-2014 09:59 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  I have updated the title of the original post. Basically, the x^2 issue caused us to pull the old one, fix, and reissue.

Is that all that changed ? If so, I won't bother to install this update, since I don't want to lose my histories and some other stuff that seems to get erased every time there's a new update.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2014, 12:36 AM
Post: #64
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
is TIME() and TICKS() Function disapear with no replacement in 6975
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2014, 12:58 AM (This post was last modified: 12-16-2014 12:59 AM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #65
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
(12-16-2014 12:36 AM)Assesham Wrote:  is TIME() and TICKS() Function disapear with no replacement in 6975

You had the variable "Time" which contained the system time, TIME which returned the system variable "Time" or timed an evaluation if an argument was provided. To avoid the problem and confusion, TIME() was renamed to TEVAL() so you wouldn't have Time and TIME.

So if you want the system time, use Time (the variable). If you want to time evaluation, use TEVAL().

TICKS() hasn't gone anywhere. Still doesn't show in the catalog (I thought I'd fixed that...), but TEVAL does.

From release notes:
Quote:TIME was renamed to TEVAL to avoid confusion with Time variable. Also now shows up in the catalog.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2014, 07:39 AM
Post: #66
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
thanks o lot.

i should read the entire changelog before posting.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2014, 07:46 AM
Post: #67
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
Not a big issue, but the button Labels and some messages of the "search for update" routine are not in the language of the emulator and/or connectivity kit.

regards

Wolfgang
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2014, 08:08 AM (This post was last modified: 12-16-2014 08:29 AM by Divasson.)
Post: #68
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
Got stuck with the connkit, that doesn't find an update with the prime. Then used the us tool.exe app, changing the files in the setting page to the three that appear in the firmware. The calculator won't restart, (black screen and no way of making it work), but it will go into recovery mode with clip and Symb. It won't "downgrade" to any past firmware (it says that it can't write anything with a recovery mode less than v16). What is the procedure to successfully upgrade it from here?

I can't get it into diagnostic mode, either.

Using windows 7, on a G8X92AA model

[edit] sorted out. I edited the contents of the usbtool.ini file, and changed the number of files to move from 4 to 3, and also the addresses (the rom file on block zero, the master on block 10000, and the app on block 50000). It worked like that!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2014, 08:13 AM
Post: #69
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
(12-16-2014 12:58 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  
(12-16-2014 12:36 AM)Assesham Wrote:  is TIME() and TICKS() Function disapear with no replacement in 6975

You had the variable "Time" which contained the system time, TIME which returned the system variable "Time" or timed an evaluation if an argument was provided. To avoid the problem and confusion, TIME() was renamed to TEVAL() so you wouldn't have Time and TIME.

So if you want the system time, use Time (the variable). If you want to time evaluation, use TEVAL().

TICKS() hasn't gone anywhere. Still doesn't show in the catalog (I thought I'd fixed that...), but TEVAL does.

From release notes:
Quote:TIME was renamed to TEVAL to avoid confusion with Time variable. Also now shows up in the catalog.

Perhaps investing in a departmental linguist would pay benefits.

An alphabet of 26 characters provides for 456,976 four character words, enough for most operating systems.

Differentiating by pronunciation would ease memory problems, ie avoid near twins like "TYME", "TIME" or "THYM".

In your example maybe "TIME" & "TVAL" would suffice?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2014, 09:33 PM (This post was last modified: 12-17-2014 09:35 PM by Anderson Costa.)
Post: #70
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
Liked the new update.
An doubt:Does the Virtual Calculator now have a serial number with this update???I have seen it on "About HP Prime" section on emulator.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-18-2014, 02:02 AM
Post: #71
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
(12-17-2014 09:33 PM)Anderson Costa Wrote:  An doubt:Does the Virtual Calculator now have a serial number with this update???I have seen it on "About HP Prime" section on emulator.

Not really. It is just a randomly generated thing that allows it to behave more like a real unit that has a fixed value internally from the chip. Makes some stuff in the connkit behave nicer for example since it can link a unique identifier to the backup for example.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2014, 04:18 PM
Post: #72
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
(12-18-2014 02:02 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  
(12-17-2014 09:33 PM)Anderson Costa Wrote:  An doubt:Does the Virtual Calculator now have a serial number with this update???I have seen it on "About HP Prime" section on emulator.

Not really. It is just a randomly generated thing that allows it to behave more like a real unit that has a fixed value internally from the chip. Makes some stuff in the connkit behave nicer for example since it can link a unique identifier to the backup for example.

Hum...Tim, with this explication I believe the serial number is putted because the connectivity between Connectivity Kit-> Virtual Calculator will be more eficiently! Thanks for the explanation, Tim.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2014, 09:47 AM
Post: #73
RE: New Version: 2014.1203
Presentation tour of the new firmware introducing the main new functionnalities :



http://mic.nic.free.fr - Youtube - Facebook
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)