Returning multiple numbers onto the stack
10-30-2014, 02:42 PM
Returning multiple numbers onto the stack
I have what I am sure may seem like a rather simple question to most of you I am sure.

I am a surveyor, and am working on several different ways of calculating points with my prime. I love the calculator, and it is quite the discussion piece amongst surveyors to say the least.

An example of my problem is outlined here:

EXPORT Traverse (n, e, ang, dist)

BEGIN
LOCAL a,b;

a:= cos(ang)*dist;

b:= sin(and)*dist;

return (n+a,e+b);

END;

Now this returns me Coordinates in the format (xxxxxx.xxx , yyyyyy.yyy) Which is ok, but i would like to have them as separate numbers on the stack for traversing forward. I have tried using multiple Return statements, tried all kinds of things but i cannot seem to get it down. please help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2014, 03:06 PM (This post was last modified: 10-30-2014 03:09 PM by Tim Wessman.)
RE: Returning multiple numbers onto the stack
Unfortunately, returning multiple items and working directly on the stack is not supported yet in this release. Possible options include putting the results into complex numbers (that you are doing) which allows two 12 digit values linked together. You could also return a list or a vector with 2 items. There is just not any way at the moment to return more then a single result.

TW

Although I work for HP, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
10-30-2014, 06:05 PM
Thats what i was afraid of. Thanks for the help!
11-10-2014, 03:37 PM (This post was last modified: 11-11-2014 05:26 AM by jayhawk.)
(10-30-2014 02:42 PM)Jm9301 Wrote:  I have what I am sure may seem like a rather simple question to most of you I am sure.

I am a surveyor, and am working on several different ways of calculating points with my prime. I love the calculator, and it is quite the discussion piece amongst surveyors to say the least.

An example of my problem is outlined here: