rremark on plotting from a paedagogical point of view
09-01-2014, 01:55 PM
rremark on plotting from a paedagogical point of view
The Prime ist an amazing graphing machine - definitely the best I have seen among its competitors on the market. Exploring functions is a joy using a touch screen.
As a math teacher I want to add a point to the wish list:
At the moment the calculator puts numbers at the edges of the plotting window indicating the maximum and the minumum values - I would prefer to bind the numbers to the last tick mark on the axis. Reading off the values would be simplified. For more precise values one can go with the Trace feature. But students should learn to read a graph without the help of a cursor! Perhaps one could make the feature switchable (a flag)?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2014, 03:34 PM
RE: rremark on plotting from a paedagogical point of view
Yeah, I agree. Basically, the behavior is just left over from smaller screened devices with less resolution. That is on the list of enhancements/changes for future consideration.

I suspect it will automatically place the numbers at specific intervals appropriate to what you have zoomed at and use shading for major/minor grouping. e.g. Dark grey fror multiples of 10, light grey for multiples of 5 in between.

TW

Although I work for HP, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
09-03-2014, 03:13 AM
(09-01-2014 01:55 PM)ThomasA Wrote:  The Prime ist an amazing graphing machine - definitely the best I have seen among its competitors on the market. Exploring functions is a joy using a touch screen.
As a math teacher I want to add a point to the wish list: