Commodore 128 power issue?
02-19-2023, 06:10 PM
Commodore 128 power issue?
Yesterday (2/19/2023) I acquired a Commodore 128 after I saw that it was working. I think that the power supply got swapped out before I brought the 128 and a power supply home. The seller had multiple 128's and power supplies. Two of the 128's just had a flashing power lights and didn't boot. At that point, I think (not sure) the power supply was swapped out as was the 128 to a third unit. The 128 booted and worked fine. So I think I got a bad power supply and not the one that was used to test the 128 I purchased since the 128 now only has a flashing red power light on it. I know that I have the working 128 since it was the nicest looking of the three.

Does anyone by chance know if a flashing light on a Commodore 128 is a symptom of a bad power supply, or other power issue? I'm new to the 128. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The VIC-20, C64, Commodore 1902 monitor, Commodore 1571 floppy drive, Commodore CN2 Cassette, and the Apple IIc with monitor I acquired in the bundle all work fine.

Joe
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2023, 10:57 PM
RE: Commodore 128 power issue?
The LED is powered directly from the 5V rail if it is flashing then the 5V is pulsating. A switching power supply will do this when overloaded. Something is WRONG.

First check that you do indeed have a C128 power supply. The Amiga 500, 600 and 1200 used the same 5-pin square DIN but have different voltages and pinout. If you got an Amiga power supply by mistake your C128 will have been damaged.

02-19-2023, 11:44 PM
Thank you, sir!

Well, I turned over the PSU to check the labeling. And sure enough, it's the wrong one. It has two 12vDC outputs instead of the two 9vAC outputs. It's for the Amiga apparently.
-----
Commodore Amiga PSU for A500