Sharp PC-1475
03-31-2023, 04:14 PM
Sharp PC-1475
I took a gamble on an "untested" PC-1475 (Japanese version), and it paid off - it looks and works great. Was there ever an English-language manual for this model? I found one that's in German, and I think I can get enough information from that combined with experience with numerous other similar Sharps to figure out most of it, but I want to make sure I'm not missing anything cool. Smile

Also, mine makes some very faint clicks from the speaker when running a program or switching between BASIC and CAL modes. Is this typical? I have a PC-E500 that makes some similar clicks, though slightly louder.

I hadn't even noticed until I started playing around with it that it has DEL, BS, and INS as primary keys - that alone is worth the upgrade! Big Grin
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2023, 07:13 PM
RE: Sharp PC-1475
Congrats Dave on your rare vintage find! The Sharp PC-1475 (1987) is easily my favorite "old style metallic" Sharp with great functionality all contained in a nice landscape-style package. It appears to be the last in this long line of "old style metallic" Sharp PC. It has an extended version of BASIC, 20 digit precision, takes 2x32KB RAM cards, has matrix/vector functions, 2var statistics, and a RAM file system. It works forever it seems on two cell batteries.

Later machines like the Sharp PC-E500 and PC-G850 are great too. The E500 is faster and has a bigger screen, but the plastic dark monotone casing is not my thing, but the PC-E500(S) runs Forth! Smile

The PC-1475 is a classic BASIC programmable. It has no symbolic operations (it has strings in BASIC) or anything resembling a CAS, for which the HP-28C/S (1986-1992) and later model HP or TI are better in that respect. But we should remember that the HP-28C came on the market after Sharp's long run of "old style metallic" pocket computers.