RPN vs The Big Three
11-17-2022, 04:04 AM
RPN vs The Big Three
Hi all.

Even as a happy owner of several recent Sharp, Casio, and TI calcs, it seems to me RPN is still the superior entry system.

First, even if the input method is linear, the burden of keeping track of parentheses is still an issue. Second, while stating the expression in VPAM (Casio), Write View (Sharp), or MathPrint (TI), you’re adding keystrokes by moving the cursor in any of four directions to place operators in the right positions of the equation. I know this sounds like I’m putting HP’s Equation Writer straight in the bull’s eye to shoot it down, that’s not my intention.

On the other hand, with RPN, the only keystrokes you need are the ones to calculate your expression
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-17-2022, 08:00 AM
RE: RPN vs The Big Three
I think so too and this is the only entry method I use today but when I was a student, I remember liking my Casio 702p because I could see the entire formula before evaluating it.
It was a bit slower but easier and safer and even more if you used memories, i.e. named variables with the Casio (or the Sharps).
11-17-2022, 08:58 PM
On the 50G, you can build an un-evaluated equation right on the stack using RPN keystrokes, with the following caveat... you have to start the equation by entering the innermost term as an algebraic object (put it between apostrophes using algebraic keystrokes). The calculator will not evaluate the algebraic, nor will it evaluate subsequent operations that you put on (using RPN keystrokes). Rather, it will magically build your equation right before your eyes, putting in brackets, etc as appropriate. When done, you can hit EVAL to crunch. I think this works on any RPL machine, as well.
Best regards, Hal
11-18-2022, 05:19 AM