HP-67 Card Reader became very touchy
10-25-2023, 10:57 AM
RE: HP-67 Card Reader became very touchy
Hi Alevin,
i remember, that i had a HP97 board with the same issue, and i replaced every capacitor with no sucess. The problem was the CRC chip. I replaced it from a donor HP97 board and it worked again.
Sometimes the solder joints are problematic, first try to resolder the CRC Chip.
And check the ribbon cable to the cardreader with a multimeter.

If you no donor board I can send you one or a CRC Chip.
Ralf

/41/48/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2023, 08:19 PM
Thank you all for your great advice an encouraging. I am learning quite a lot, being in mind I am an vulgar hobbyist without an electronic background.

Lets update.

To avoid uncertainty about the condition of the substituted C6 45 uF capacitor on the HP-97, as its capacity measure on the PCB was so different form the nominal one (on contrary to the others caps around), I took a breath ( be careful or you tryng are going to make things to worsen) an desoldered it.

Once isolated, C6 showed 44uF , just nominal capacity and 0,1 ESR. So it was OK. Nevertheless, I substituted it again for another new one. Curiously, with the logic PCB dissembled from the calculator, once a new C6 was soldered again, the measured capacity on the PCB went “overload” (above the measuring device maximum range). Never mind, as I am sure the cap and the soldering was ok an quick, without any overheating

In the same logic PCB dissembled, all the diodes were not conducting on inverse polarization, and they kept like this when reassembling the logic PCB on the rest of the calculator body, except the diode CR5, that shown again 1.4 K Ohms in inverse polarization.

As expected, this new C6 substitution did not solve the “only read card at low bat” problem, but at least I am sure that the C6 cap is now Ok.