New user frustration
08-17-2022, 07:45 PM
New user frustration
Hello, everyone. I'm new to the Prime (and this forum), but not to HP calculators. I started with the 34C back in 1981, and progressed through the 28C, 48SX, 50g, and 17bII+. The Prime seems like a different beast, and I feel like a beginner in spite of 4 decades using RPN. Some of my frustration is not being able to duplicate what's in the manual (often I get a syntax error because I'm in the wrong mode or something). For example, the manual (under calculus - differentiate) says that the $ symbol followed by an integer can be used for multiple differentiations, so diff(f(x),x$3) should be the same as diff(f(x),x,x,x). But, I get the following results:

diff(x^4*y^4,x,x,x,y,y) = 288xy^2 which is correct. However,
diff(x^4*y^4,x$3,y$2) = 0 ???

Also, it changes the syntax from x$3 to $(x,3). Am I doing something wrong? Maybe I'm using the "wrong" $ symbol. I say this because I found a nice molar mass program on this forum and kept getting a syntax error until I discovered that the double quotes on the small menu (shift-9) are NOT the same as the ones on the char menu (shift-Vars)!

Also, have some of the old commands gone away? I can find no mention of things like ISOL and QUAD from the 28 and 48 series. So, if I have c^2 + d^2 = 1 and I want to solve symbolically for c in terms of d, is there a command on the Prime that does this? Thanks!

- Bruce
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-18-2022, 06:42 AM
RE: New user frustration
The manual may not be up to date and contain some typos.

What I found out for your examples, what you could try. Go to CAS mode first, then enter:

diff(x^4*y^4,{x,y}{3,2})

gives the desired answer for the differentiation. For solving the equation, also in CAS mode, enter the following:

zeros(c^2+d^2=1,c)

This gives the two symbolic solutions for variable c in terms of d.