Hello and asking for help with HP 67 power unit
11-26-2021, 01:45 PM
RE: Hello and asking for help with HP 67 power unit
I'm no expert in electronics. As Jacques Laporte explains Vgg is derived thru C1/CR6 and C2/CR7 interaction. C1 and C2 are 2.2µF tantalums. I think those are the small black ones in the picture shown at http://home.citycable.ch/pierrefleur/Jac...ceDeck.htm
(also seen as black ones in pictures from Alberto).
Correct me if I'm wrong. Colour code is not always on the parts I found out.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-26-2021, 06:50 PM
Yes, I you're right. On my good board they are also black as on the photo, on the damaged board, they are red ...
But ! You wan't believe it, my board seems to be self repairing ! Since this afternoon the maschine is running fine, although Vgg is still only -10.1 V. Only thing I did was removing it once again from its place inside the calculator and doing some measurements with a DVM, nothing else. I really hate these situations, because it's now even harder to find the fault, which must be somewhere and which certainly will come up sometimes later on. I'm still concerned about the low Vgg. Perhaps I will exchange those two tantalums anyway. But in the meanwhile I think the problem is somewhere else on the board since the calculator seems to work well with a voltage that low. Perhaps it was a contact problem (some oxydization) somewhere at the long chain of contacts along the lower side oft the board. Due to the frequent removement and reinstallation perhaps the contact has cleaned up ?
Keep you informed when I have news
Stefan
11-26-2021, 07:09 PM
Stefan, that's good news Smile. Yes, maybe there is some dirty connection in the holes to or at the golden forks. Maybe you clean them thoroughly with IPA and the problem is gone permanently.
Wish you success
11-26-2021, 07:35 PM
Andi,