MCODE EPROM HARDWARE
08-26-2021, 06:28 PM
MCODE EPROM HARDWARE
Hi all,

I’ve started reading “HP-41 M CODE FOR BEGINNERS” by Ken Emery.
There he specifies some needed hardware to have, like ERAMCO MLDL, PROTOCODER II, EPROM BOX, etc…
Are these things even still available today? Do I really need them, or are there any more modern ways to save M CODE programs and transfer them to the calculator?

I’m completely new to this.

Thanks

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
2x HP41CL, HP41CX, HP48GX, HP50g, 2x82162A Printer, 2x82143A Printer, 2x HP-IL, 2x Card-Readers, PIL-BOX.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2021, 07:12 PM (This post was last modified: 08-26-2021 07:24 PM by Sylvain Cote.)
RE: MCODE EPROM HARDWARE
(08-26-2021 06:28 PM)Neve Wrote:  There he specifies some needed hardware to have, like ERAMCO MLDL, PROTOCODER II, EPROM BOX, etc…
Are these things even still available today? Do I really need them, or are there any more modern ways to save M CODE programs and transfer them to the calculator?
These were hardware that implemented 10 bit words either in RAM (MLDL & RAM boxes) and/or in EPROM (MLDL & EPROM boxes).
Today, you can use the 41CL, DM-41X or NoV-64d as MLDL.
For the 41CL, you just need to initialize a 41CL internal RAM page with 0x00 and then map that page to the 41 memory space (page 6 to 15).
Then with the ROM of your choice, fill up that RAM page with nut instructions.
Sylvain

Edit 1:
Ángel has created an Excel page with special macros to generate his modules.
I had started to do the same but I have never completed mine.
There are several PC nut assembler available that can generate 4K MCODE modules.
Once you have a 4K module, you just need to transfer it to the target (41CL, DM-41X, Clonix-D, NoV-64d, etc) in the device RAM or Flash.

Edit 2:
Look at my HPCC 2020 presentation on Diego's modules, it should gives you some answers to your questions.