HP Prime: a student's view
08-30-2021, 01:11 AM
HP Prime: a student's view
This post is about my experiences so far with the Prime. It is quite long. TL;DR: nerd kid likes the Prime.

-------
I want to clarify something about myself: I'm not an adult like most people here (hopefully this means I am still allowed to post). While posting my real age is obviously an unwise choice, suffice it to say that I'm in high school, currently taking AP Calculus AB.

I've been a general math + technology nerd since I was little. I started programming at about 10 and I currently use Java, Python, and C. I've always had an affinity for calculators, and since I've been programming computers for a long time, it only follows that I like programming calcs too. My first calculator was a Casio fx-9750G PLUS, a '90s graphing calculator which is programmed in a rudimentary BASIC. Despite its shortcomings, I had a shocking amount of fun learning how to program that thing.

My history with HP calcs starts with a calculator that is almost a family heirloom (my dad grew up in Loveland, Colorado, for reference): a 50th Anniversary edition HP 32S, complete with 50th Anniversary leather case. It was the first HP I ever used or played with, and it still functions perfectly. I learned RPN and RPN programming on it. More recently, I've accumulated a 35s, a 27S, and a 48GX. Eventually I'd like to get maybe an HP-97 and a 41C.

I happened to get the 48 at the beginning of last school year, for virtual school with Algebra II. After spending some time browsing hpcalc.org, I found Java (the stack replacement, not the programming language) and ALG48, and immediately put them to use. I have no expansion cards (I would have liked to run the Meta Kernel), so memory was tight. I made my own homebrew serial cable from some parts I had lying around.