Post Reply 
May 5 Update?
05-06-2021, 02:11 AM
Post: #1
May 5 Update?
What's that all about?

Tom L
Cui bono?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 05:08 AM
Post: #2
RE: May 5 Update?
Hello,

Mostly a small bug in exam mode which we had to get out rely fast before exams in Europe.
Some other small bug fixes.

More importantly 2 critical "load" bugs that were causing crashes and reboot when loading old type programs (through the CK or from a backup).

Some other changes:
Code:

FIXED BUG: fix exam mode bug
FIXED BUG: TERMINAL(3):=value did not work well...
FIXED BUG: proot wizard did not work when cas was disabled
FIXED BUG: proot wizard display errors with complex polynomials
FIXED BUG: number of crash at load time for backups and programs
FIXED BUG: Python: matplotl show was not working
TECHNICAL: new language strings

Cyrille

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own. I do not speak for HP.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 06:53 AM
Post: #3
RE: May 5 Update?
I could not make show() work.
Code:

from matplotl import *
plot([1,2,3],[4,5,7])
show()
should display two segments.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 11:39 AM
Post: #4
RE: May 5 Update?
Hello,

Unfortunately I have discovered another BUG in the APP Explorer.
On the physical calculator G2 (FW: 20210505 v14588) the display of the values is no longer displayed correctly during the transformation.

Would certainly be nice for the students if this would still work correctly!

Best thanks for the excellent work in 2021!


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 02:15 PM
Post: #5
RE: May 5 Update?
Application: Explorer App

Since the latest firmware 2021-05-05 v14588 on calculator Prime G2 the values are not displayed at the correct place when transforming.

Please excuse the translation.

Kind regards,
Tschumi

       
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 07:56 PM
Post: #6
RE: May 5 Update?
Thanks for the update, @cyrille!

@parisse, show() worked for me using May 5th firmware (HP Prime G2). I tested it using the hist(), since I was interested in histograms, and using the code you posted.

Below are the steps I took to update my prime:
A few things I've noticed:
  • clf() does not work, and it keeps the previous plot in the figure.
  • only way i've found (so far) to clear the previous figure is to reset the calculator
  • plot overlays on python command line, the work around is to use the hpprime library and do the clear screen trick someone posted in previous thread
  • python scripts run one after another, not sure how to disable that
  • not sure what the syntax is for hist() to include the number of bins
  • did notice my calculator rebooting sometimes when i was saving a new python file through the connectivity tool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 08:04 PM
Post: #7
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-06-2021 05:08 AM)cyrille de brĂ©bisson Wrote:  Hello,

Mostly a small bug in exam mode which we had to get out rely fast before exams in Europe.
Some other small bug fixes.

More importantly 2 critical "load" bugs that were causing crashes and reboot when loading old type programs (through the CK or from a backup).

Now my older Primes (pre-G2) constantly reboot when I connect to the CK and click on Applications in the left pane.

Tom L
Cui bono?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2021, 09:48 PM
Post: #8
RE: May 5 Update?
On my g1 it rebooted during sync until i reset the adv Graph/Function and Graph 3d after reseting those apps it syncs. So maybe the problem is one of those apps
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 04:11 AM
Post: #9
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-06-2021 09:48 PM)Dougggg Wrote:  On my g1 it rebooted during sync until i reset the adv Graph/Function and Graph 3d after reseting those apps it syncs. So maybe the problem is one of those apps

I tried that, but it didn't work until I had reset all the apps and deleted all my saved apps.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 04:15 AM
Post: #10
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-06-2021 07:56 PM)ace Wrote:  Thanks for the update, @cyrille!

@parisse, show() worked for me using May 5th firmware (HP Prime G2). I tested it using the hist(), since I was interested in histograms, and using the code you posted.

Below are the steps I took to update my prime:

I did not get prompted to updated to 5/5/2021 firmware. I can't find it anywhere.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 05:25 AM
Post: #11
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-06-2021 06:53 AM)parisse Wrote:  I could not make show() work.
Code:

from matplotl import *
plot([1,2,3],[4,5,7])
show()
should display two segments.

even I can't get the little program to work
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 05:58 AM
Post: #12
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-06-2021 07:56 PM)ace Wrote:  @parisse, show() worked for me using May 5th firmware (HP Prime G2). I tested it using the hist(), since I was interested in histograms, and using the code you posted.
It does not work on a G1, I did not check on a G2.
clf does indeed not work, because internally it calls the giac erase() command, and erase() is not available on the Prime CAS.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 06:24 AM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2021 06:35 AM by Stevetuc.)
Post: #13
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-07-2021 04:15 AM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  I did not get prompted to updated to 5/5/2021 firmware. I can't find it anywhere.
Hi Eddie, it's on the ftp site:
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/calculators/Prime/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 11:55 AM
Post: #14
RE: May 5 Update?
Web browsers no longer support ftp:// connection so you will need to use an FTP app with anonymus login.

The latest beta 20210428 of the Connectivity Kit will download the latest OS version 20210505 automatically. Much more convenient.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 12:07 PM
Post: #15
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-07-2021 11:55 AM)StephanP Wrote:  Web browsers no longer support ftp:// connection so you will need to use an FTP app with anonymus login.

If you're using Windows, you can simply use File Explorer. Copy the ftp: url and paste it in File Explorer's address bar, it works fine.

No idea if this works in macOS Finder; I'd guess not, but would like to know if some Mac owner could give it a try.

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 12:20 PM
Post: #16
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-07-2021 05:58 AM)parisse Wrote:  
(05-06-2021 07:56 PM)ace Wrote:  @parisse, show() worked for me using May 5th firmware (HP Prime G2). I tested it using the hist(), since I was interested in histograms, and using the code you posted.
It does not work on a G1, I did not check on a G2.
clf does indeed not work, because internally it calls the giac erase() command, and erase() is not available on the Prime CAS.

With the HP PRIME G2, two blue segments are drawn - it works! However, even if the two segments are drawn, <import 'program name' remains in the upper left corner of the calculator screen. Is this a normal thing?
Another question: if I move to HOME or CAS, how can I call and run a program written with the Python App?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 01:38 PM
Post: #17
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-07-2021 11:55 AM)StephanP Wrote:  Web browsers no longer support ftp:// connection so you will need to use an FTP app with anonymus login.

The latest beta 20210428 of the Connectivity Kit will download the latest OS version 20210505 automatically. Much more convenient.

Using File Explorer worked.

Thank you HP Team!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 02:06 PM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2021 02:17 PM by Arno K.)
Post: #18
RE: May 5 Update?
Using the old ie does the job.
Arno
Even better and long awaited is the automatic download starting the ConnKit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 02:22 PM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2021 02:24 PM by StephenG1CMZ.)
Post: #19
RE: May 5 Update?
(05-07-2021 01:38 PM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  
(05-07-2021 11:55 AM)StephanP Wrote:  Web browsers no longer support ftp:// connection so you will need to use an FTP app with anonymus login.

The latest beta 20210428 of the Connectivity Kit will download the latest OS version 20210505 automatically. Much more convenient.

Using File Explorer worked.

Thank you HP Team!

I've asked about the broken ftp functionality in some browsers here
https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-16893.html to avoid cluttering this thread. .

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2021, 07:37 PM
Post: #20
RE: May 5 Update?
I received an email asking me about the 5/5/2021 firmware:

When running the Connectivity Kit and he clicked on the calculator on the Kit, the calculator shut on and off.

Any recommendations?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)