HP 41 Catalog implementation
05-02-2021, 07:25 PM
HP 41 Catalog implementation
While the HP41 CATALOG function may probably be called revolutionary for its time (as the whole machine) I am curious why there is no way to use/execute a function when browsing the catalog. It wouldn't seem too far-fetched to allow using e.g. XEQ while stepping through a catalog to execute the "current" function.

I'm still very new to HP41 operation and wonder if there are any known or suspected design considerations that would make this impractical or downright stupid.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2021, 08:04 PM (This post was last modified: 05-02-2021 08:06 PM by Steve Simpkin.)
RE: HP 41 Catalog implementation
(05-02-2021 07:25 PM)Siegfried Wrote:  While the HP41 CATALOG function may probably be called revolutionary for its time (as the whole machine) I am curious why there is no way to use/execute a function when browsing the catalog. It wouldn't seem too far-fetched to allow using e.g. XEQ while stepping through a catalog to execute the "current" function.

I'm still very new to HP41 operation and wonder if there are any known or suspected design considerations that would make this impractical or downright stupid.

I would like to know as well. That would have seemed like a really handy way to execute a function that you didn't remember the name of and had to search the catalog for. I suppose the answer might be that "Life is short and ROM is full" Smile
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
05-02-2021, 08:39 PM
You can do that on catalog 1.

press CAT 1.
when the function appears press R/S.
use backarrow to exit catalog.
press R/S and the function will execute.

Works also with roms containing normal programs but not with the built in functions in cat 3
05-03-2021, 12:34 AM