Post Reply 
Any Surveyors?
06-23-2014, 10:28 PM
Post: #21
RE: Any Surveyors?
So...
any more surveyors here?
Smile

Thanks
~~~~8< Art >8~~~~

PS: Please post more 50G stuff :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2014, 01:34 AM
Post: #22
RE: Any Surveyors?
(06-23-2014 10:28 PM)CosmicTruth Wrote:  So...
any more surveyors here?
Smile
I guess there are surveyors here (like myself) who have lost interest in using calculators for real work at least for the last 10 years. Apart of that some (like myself) may dislike the hardware in question so it doesn't qualify for hobby Wink
Good luck anyway.

Cheers,
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-24-2014, 02:28 AM
Post: #23
RE: Any Surveyors?
(06-24-2014 01:34 AM)RMollov Wrote:  
(06-23-2014 10:28 PM)CosmicTruth Wrote:  So...
any more surveyors here?
Smile
I guess there are surveyors here (like myself) who have lost interest in using calculators for real work at least for the last 10 years. Apart of that some (like myself) may dislike the hardware in question so it doesn't qualify for hobby Wink
Good luck anyway.

Cheers,

I still go in the field and my antique DC isn't as handy as my 50G for number crunching. And because using dang calculators has made me so dumb I can't even add 2 numbers without making a mistake, I use my 50G daily. My DC is a topcon 2500 and topsurv (itsucks), So eventually I hope to throw it in some ditch and use a 50G (or other HP calculator) to do all my field work/data collection.

Thanks
~~~~8< Art >8~~~~

PS: Please post more 50G stuff :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2016, 02:25 AM
Post: #24
RE: Any Surveyors?
hey i am currently in the process of writing a basic program for the hp50g to calculate the co-ordinates from one mark to the next knowing the northing and easting a (point A) and having a distance and bearing.

so for this is what i have got so any help will be appreciated i am a bit stuck

<<RECT
"ENTER N1 AND E1"
PROMPT ->V2 -> NE
<< CYLIN
"ENTER DIST AND BRG"
PROMPT HMS-> ->V2 RECT >>
>>

(I symbolising the arrow as cant do on keyboard ->)

so once it has converted the distance and bearing to rect i need it to add to the northing and easting of the station entered first and give me answer

i am capable of doing this all manually but i just want to write my own program as i am doing this on a daily basis in the field to check things cheers Help greatly needed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2016, 08:15 AM
Post: #25
RE: Any Surveyors?
(06-24-2014 01:34 AM)RMollov Wrote:  I guess there are surveyors here (like myself) who have lost interest in using calculators for real work at least for the last 10 years. Apart of that some (like myself) may dislike the hardware in question so it doesn't qualify for hobby Wink
Good luck anyway.

Cheers,

I use my overclocked 15C every day, and keep a DM15L in my fieldbag. All the other surveyors I have worked with here use some form of HP calculator, ranging from 11Cs through to 48Gs. The popular choice in our firm is the 35S, although personally I rejected it after the ENTER key failed on mine.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2016, 08:19 AM
Post: #26
RE: Any Surveyors?
(03-22-2016 02:25 AM)BrendanJ Wrote:  hey i am currently in the process of writing a basic program for the hp50g to calculate the co-ordinates from one mark to the next knowing the northing and easting a (point A) and having a distance and bearing.

so for this is what i have got so any help will be appreciated i am a bit stuck

<<RECT
"ENTER N1 AND E1"
PROMPT ->V2 -> NE
<< CYLIN
"ENTER DIST AND BRG"
PROMPT HMS-> ->V2 RECT >>
>>

(I symbolising the arrow as cant do on keyboard ->)

so once it has converted the distance and bearing to rect i need it to add to the northing and easting of the station entered first and give me answer

i am capable of doing this all manually but i just want to write my own program as i am doing this on a daily basis in the field to check things cheers Help greatly needed.

I don't know the 50G. Is there no summation (E+) key that allows you to accumulate x and y (n and e)?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2016, 03:52 PM (This post was last modified: 03-22-2016 03:59 PM by MNH.)
Post: #27
RE: Any Surveyors?
I tried your program on my Droid48. I needed to use the complimentary angle of the bearing to get the correct delta latitude and delta departure in the NE quadrant, for example. Also, the precision of the resulting vector is poor. I don't know why. You could add a TMENU with a CONT label and function before your prompts. Then, you don't have to keep typing CONT after your prompts.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2016, 06:52 PM
Post: #28
RE: Any Surveyors?
Add the following to the end of your program:

V-> NE V-> SWAP ROT + SWAP ROT +

I suggest you add the following before each PROMPT:

{ " " " " " " " " " " { "CONT" << CONT>> }} TMENU
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2016, 07:58 PM
Post: #29
RE: Any Surveyors?
For readability, you can add the following to the end of the program:

"E" ->TAG SWAP "N" ->TAG SWAP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2016, 02:29 AM
Post: #30
RE: Any Surveyors?
thanks i sat down this morning and got it all to work but i will add and try your suggestions
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2016, 04:01 PM
Post: #31
RE: Any Surveyors?
To automatically return to the VAR menu after your new coordinates are displayed, add 2 MENU to the end of your program. Even though your new coordinates are tagged, you can still use them as input to continue your traverse.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-26-2016, 01:33 PM
Post: #32
RE: Any Surveyors?
You only need { " " " " " " " " " " { "CONT" << CONT>> }} TMENU before the first PROMPT. The TMENU will remain until the program is done executing unless you add 2 MENU to the end of the program, which I have recommended.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-26-2016, 02:53 PM (This post was last modified: 03-26-2016 03:00 PM by buffalo.)
Post: #33
RE: Any Surveyors?
(probably old info however)
ADVANCED USERS ONLY

HP48G --- HP49G/HP50g* ENTRY POINT NAME
-------------------------------------------------
2B4BB --- 30EA6 ----------- %POL>%REC
2B48E --- 30E79 ----------- %REC>%POL
(*added by me)
taken from here (http://holyjoe.org/hp/XrefAZ.txt)

here they are the missing P->R & R->P that surveyors know & love
they are syseval commands
****(backup you data if u haven't used syseval before)******

(on my HP50g my stack looks thus in Aust we use metric)
INPUT
4: 555.555 (dist -in U.S use decimal feet)
3: 55.931944 (brg 55.5555 HMS->)
2: #30EA6h (note # & h -essential )
1: SYSEVAL (type or pick from CAT)

OUTPUT
4:
3:
2:311.20926336
1:460.20664100

*****Backup memory prior to using syseval commands****
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-26-2016, 11:05 PM (This post was last modified: 03-26-2016 11:07 PM by MNH.)
Post: #34
RE: Any Surveyors?
I never tried any system programming on my HP 50g. The only HP calculator I use is the Droid48.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2016, 02:18 AM
Post: #35
RE: Any Surveyors?
I have 9 operational HP calculators, including a 48 with the TDS survey software, plus 6 or 7 more machines in various states of repair, but I don't own a 50g. No matter which direction I turn on my desk, theres an hp there ready to help. When I head to the field, I grab one at random, whichever I happen to see and manage to get through the day with it. For dc's, we use the tds ranger, or the trimble tsc3 for gps, but I'm never without a separate calculator, and generally use it every day in some capacity.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2016, 01:41 PM (This post was last modified: 03-27-2016 01:47 PM by RMollov.)
Post: #36
RE: Any Surveyors?
(03-26-2016 02:53 PM)buffalo Wrote:  (probably old info however)
ADVANCED USERS ONLY

HP48G --- HP49G/HP50g* ENTRY POINT NAME
-------------------------------------------------
2B4BB --- 30EA6 ----------- %POL>%REC
2B48E --- 30E79 ----------- %REC>%POL
(*added by me)
taken from here (http://holyjoe.org/hp/XrefAZ.txt)

here they are the missing P->R & R->P that surveyors know & love
they are syseval commands
****(backup you data if u haven't used syseval before)******

(on my HP50g my stack looks thus in Aust we use metric)
INPUT
4: 555.555 (dist -in U.S use decimal feet)
3: 55.931944 (brg 55.5555 HMS->)
2: #30EA6h (note # & h -essential )
1: SYSEVAL (type or pick from CAT)

OUTPUT
4:
3:
2:311.20926336
1:460.20664100

*****Backup memory prior to using syseval commands****

So you assume DEG mode is set.

What about
<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2016, 03:02 PM (This post was last modified: 03-27-2016 03:05 PM by buffalo.)
Post: #37
RE: Any Surveyors?
(you said)
So you assume DEG mode is set.
What about
<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> ?


Yes Thanks RMollov
my version assumed i was in degrees mode.
(yet another reason to backup memory if "fooling" around with sysevals.)
there are of course a lot more commands in the "extended" entry point file
than in user RPL.

and sometimes speed can be of concern
<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> = 0.060303 secs roughly
<< DEG #30EA6h SYSEVAL >> =0.399169 secs roughly
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-29-2016, 12:03 AM
Post: #38
RE: Any Surveyors?
(03-22-2016 02:25 AM)BrendanJ Wrote:  hey i am currently in the process of writing a basic program for the hp50g to calculate the co-ordinates from one mark to the next knowing the northing and easting a (point A) and having a distance and bearing.

so for this is what i have got so any help will be appreciated i am a bit stuck

<<RECT
"ENTER N1 AND E1"
PROMPT ->V2 -> NE
<< CYLIN
"ENTER DIST AND BRG"
PROMPT HMS-> ->V2 RECT >>
>>

(I symbolising the arrow as cant do on keyboard ->)

so once it has converted the distance and bearing to rect i need it to add to the northing and easting of the station entered first and give me answer

i am capable of doing this all manually but i just want to write my own program as i am doing this on a daily basis in the field to check things cheers Help greatly needed.
Here is one you might like. Use cursor arrows to move focus when prompted for data entry.
Code:

\<< DEG 
"COORDS:" {
":N: 
:E: " { 1 5 } V } INPUT OBJ\-> RECT \->V2
"MEASURED:" {
":BRG: 
:DST: " { 1 7 } V } INPUT OBJ\-> SWAP HMS\-> CYLIN \->V2 RECT + DUP V\-> 3 FIX
"RESULT: 

N= " ROT + 
"

E= " + SWAP + CLLCD 3 DISP 3 FREEZE
\>>
This will leave resulting coordinates as 2D vector if flag -19 is clear or a complex number if set in the stack.
Note there is a space after :N: and :BRG:
I find PROMPT command useless in RPL unlike in RPN.
Hope this helps.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-29-2016, 02:04 AM
Post: #39
RE: Any Surveyors?
(03-27-2016 03:02 PM)buffalo Wrote:  (you said)
So you assume DEG mode is set.
What about
<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> ?


Yes Thanks RMollov
my version assumed i was in degrees mode.
(yet another reason to backup memory if "fooling" around with sysevals.)
there are of course a lot more commands in the "extended" entry point file
than in user RPL.

and sometimes speed can be of concern
<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> = 0.060303 secs roughly
<< DEG #30EA6h SYSEVAL >> =0.399169 secs roughly

That's funny, I get pretty much the opposite result. On a physical 50g:

<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> about 49ms
#30EA6h SYSEVAL 26ms
<< ->V2 CYLIN V-> RECT >> 33ms
#30E79h SYSEVAL 10ms

making the SYSEVALs about twice as fast as well as not having to mess with system flags. Still seems silly to me to not include P->R and R->P as user functions.

John
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-29-2016, 02:42 AM (This post was last modified: 03-29-2016 04:36 AM by RMollov.)
Post: #40
RE: Any Surveyors?
(03-29-2016 02:04 AM)John Keith Wrote:  That's funny, I get pretty much the opposite result. On a physical 50g:

<< CYLIN ->V2 RECT V-> >> about 49ms
#30EA6h SYSEVAL 26ms
<< ->V2 CYLIN V-> RECT >> 33ms
#30E79h SYSEVAL 10ms

making the SYSEVALs about twice as fast as well as not having to mess with system flags. Still seems silly to me to not include P->R and R->P as user functions.

John

If you add argument checking as you should when using SYSEVAL timing may get different. Also timing is negligible in this case. Pressing a single button probably takes longer than 49ms Wink
What's more, P->R and R->P are essential for the older RPN style programming (excluding HP42s). Unless one wants to replicate 1:1 HP41 program to HP48, RPL has lots of options dealing better with this. I've written quite a big suite of surveying programs for both HP41 & HP48/28 doing the same thing and noticed that I never actually needed P->R and R->P on the HP48 (or 28).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)